Food/Recipes

‘Tis The Season For Apples!

Apples are hands down, one of my favourite fruits. So the fact that we are currently right in the middle of prime apple season, means that it’s time for a new apple recipe!

Everyone loves a good apple crisp, but its still hard to make it absolutely amazing without delicioius fattening butter. šŸ˜‰Ā  That being said, I started to think of something different to make with our abundance of apples. One day last week, I came across this recipe for aĀ  ‘healthy’ apple cake. The instant I laid eyes on the recipe, I knew that I’d have to try out my own version in attempt to make it even healthier.

…now that you have your little intro, I will just say one last thing before giving you the recipe – YOU MUST MAKE THIS CAKE ASAP!!!!! šŸ˜‰

Whole Wheat Apple Cake

adapted from here

 

What you need:

  • 1 1/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 apples finely chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 C apple sauce
  • 1/4 C almonds (optional)

What you do:

– preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grab a pan (a brownie pan would be best)

– my mom had picked me up a festive pan for a whopping $.25!!! so I thought I’d try my hand at making a jack-o-lantern cake. šŸ˜‰

– this is where I’ll tell you to line your pan with parchment to avoid any unneccesary oil, but since I was trying to make a fancy cake, I needed to grease the pan with a tiny bit of canola

– in a small bowl, whisk your flour, baking soda, salt and spices

– in a small bowl, mix your apples, egg, apple sauce, brown sugar and almonds

– once blended stir the dry mixture into the wet

– it should blend together nicely and form a thick muffin-like batter

– spread into your pan and bake for 32-35 minutes

– when the cake is golden brown and you can get a clean toothpick and all that jazz it’s ready to come out šŸ˜‰

– this not only smelled unbelievable, but I was also extra excited to see the jack-o-lantern face on the other side! So I flipped that sucker over right away and ….. ta da!!

… What the?!?!?!?!Ā  jack-o-lantern fail (please excuse my unruly hair do..)


Despite the lack of the jack-o-lantern face, this cake was phenomenal!!!! So go and make yourself one!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “‘Tis The Season For Apples!

  1. This cake looks so good, I wouldn’t even care about the jack-o-lantern fail! Apples are one of my favourite foods so I will definitely be giving this a try (though gluten-free)

Leave a Reply

