Life / Workouts

A New Month, A New Outlook

In case you were wondering, yes, I am still alive. 😉

The last month has been one filled with a whirlwind of emotions trying to deal with my hives, the long anxious wait leading up to an appointment with the allergist, followed by the results of said appointments.  I’ve literally been up and down for the past month that I just didn’t have it in me to post on here. It’s unfortunate, but it’s something I just couldn’t bring myself to doing.

That being said, I did finally have an appointment with an allergist on Friday September 23. It was at that appointment where I was told that I DO NOT HAVE ALLERGIES.. but I’m one of the rare ones who has some sort of autoimmune disorder which is just called “CHRONIC HIVES”. Lucky me.  I was told that we’ll most likely never find the cause of them (as in most chronic hives cases) and that we’re just going to have to work on managing them until they decide to burn out and go away.  I could have them for another month, two months.. a year… etc. there’s no way to know. I can only wait.

Great.

Needless to say, I was a complete basket case that Friday.  I was so looking forward to the appointment as I would finally get some answers.  I got some sort of answer, but it was the last thing I wanted to hear.  In order to try and pin point the cause, the allergist went over all of my blood test result from my family doctor, along with the blood test results from my visit to the ER in July.  After seeing everything was pretty much perfect on those, she sent me to the lab for even more blood tests… I think I’ve given about 20 vials of blood so far with this.. ugh..

I left that appointment with a new prescription for an antihistamine that I actually had before, but found it didn’t work – hydroxizine.  Apparently it wasn’t working because I wasn’t given the correct dose.  This time I was given a dose of 2 pills every 6 hours along with a note to keep me home from work for a week so that I can adjust to them.  A side effect of it is drowsiness and oh boy did it ever make me drowsy!!  For the first few days, my hives actually came back really strong and on top of that, I felt dizzy and pretty much out of it for hours on end.  As the week progressed, the drowsiness and dizziness started to subside a bit (my body getting used to it), but it still wasn’t taking the hives away.

Yesterday I got a call from my allergist.  My recent blood test results were in and everything is completely normal.  The only thing she saw that could be part of the cause of the hives was that I show a miniscule amount of antibodies in/on my thyroid (something linked to chronic hives).  She said it’s absolutely nothing to worry about though, as my thyroid is functioning perfectly, but it’s just something that I’ll have to continue to have checked on a yearly basis – which I have done anyway when I get my yearly physicals so no biggie. During this call, she asked how the hydroxizine was working and I mentioned that I still had hives.  Puzzled that I was still having issues (I guess this dose of hydroxizine works on most people in my situation), she suggested I try Zantac as well – like I did before when I was on Reactine.

Well…

I took Zantac last night with the hydroxizine for the first time together.

This morning I think I had maybe 5-6 hives on my body.

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

I haven’t been this clear of hives since I was on Prednisone.. that nasty nasty steroid.

This is good.

I am very hopeful that we finally found the magic match of antihistamines which can finally give me some comfort as I wait for the hives to burn out.

So there you have it.  That’s what’s been going on.

Time to move forward and start a new month with a new outlook.

Sadly, due to the fact that I’ve been suffering with hives since the end of June, and went through 2 courses of prednisone, it’s no surprise that I have put on weight. 😦 I was only able to ride Chelsea 2 times since June, and managed to run maybe 3 times (including the Terry Fox Run a few weekends ago) in that time. With no other workouts, combined with a drug who has a nasty side effect of weight gain, it was bound to happen. It’s also made me very sad and depressed. But it’s time to move on.

Today I turned the page in my life, told myself that I’m just going to have to deal with the hives thing, and pulled out a trusty friend.

I shredded like I have never shred before! 😉

Honestly, I am so unbelievably out of shape and it kicked my ASS! But, I did it.  For the first time in 3 months, I was actually able to complete a good workout.

And do you want to know the best thing about it??

I can’t even spot 1 hive on my body as I am typing this out… for the first time in months, I don’t feel itchy!!

This month is going to be good.

5 thoughts on “A New Month, A New Outlook

  1. I cannot say how sorry I am for you!
    I know just what it’s like to go to the hospital hoping for answers and being told that they don’t have them but that you’re stuck with the issue.
    But you know what, it’s brilliant that you’re staying so positive 🙂
    I really admire your attitude!

  2. Laura, come see me. I want to help you find the source of your hives, that is creating this reaction. If you aren’t happy with the idea of playing the waiting game with the hivesand being victim to their seemingly unprompted assaults, I’d love to help you. Often an alternative approach will not only make you feel better than ever, but also make your symptoms (aka hives) disappear.

    Send me a text, let’s get together, its’ been too long!

  3. Pingback: Happy New Year! « My Pink Thumb

  4. Pingback: The Hives – One Year Later « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

