Life

Hanging In There

Last week I thought I finally had a break through. I thought stress was one of the main causes of the hives.  Learning how to meditate seemed like it was helping. chamomile tea seemed like it was helping. Trying my hardest to stay relaxed and ‘zen’ seemed to help.

Until my prescription of prednisone was done.

As soon as I was done with that pill, the hives returned.  Since Friday they started getting worse and worse every single day. I had a major flare up last night awaking this morning COMPLETELY COVERED from head to toe. I was so embarrassed to go into work, but knew I couldn’t keep calling in sick due to this.

I’m sad…frustrated…angry…depressed…….

Thankfully I managed to squeeze in a small run on Monday morning when the hives seemed to subside for a bit (I seem to be the best mid day).  It was my first run in a month.

I haven’t been able to ride in over a month now due to my not wanting to irritate the hives. I wanted to go so badly last night, but could barely stand let alone walk when 5:00 came around. 😦  Hives on my arms/legs/stomach/chest/back itch like crazy… hives on the bottom of my feet and on the palms of my hands feel like BRUISES.  I’ve been getting them under my feet/heels every single day now making walking so very painful.

Anyway, I know this is probably sounding like I’m looking for a pity party or something, but I am not.  I just thought I’d let you know where I’m at and why my short burst of inspiration fizzled away so very quickly.

I did have a thought last night that perhaps my allergy is towards eggs because I literally eat them every single day.  I’m not avoiding those delicious little eggs in hopes that maybe I can figure out an answer for myself.

On a random note, I came across the site Bloglovin today and it’s exactly what I had been looking for in terms of a blog reader (not a fan of google reader). So yeah..

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Hanging In There

  1. Have you tried making an appointment to see a naturopath? (I never know how to spell that)

    Hope you find some answers/relief soon! Hang in there 🙂

  2. I agree with commenter above, try a naturopath, they are pretty awesome!
    Sooooo sorry you are dealing with this, i just want to have a magical solution i can give you to help you feel better
    Keep us updated when you can 🙂

  3. thank you for the kind thoughts ladies.
    if the no egg thing doesn’t help over the next 4-5 days, i can then get my dr. to send me to an allergist for some tests. (had to suffer our 6-8 wks before i could see an allergist) if an allergist doesn’t give me answers then i will definitely be seeking out every possible option.

  4. one of my co-workers also has chronic hives. it’s been a few years for her. remember prednisone is a steroid. my heart goes out to you. it must be awful.

  5. Pingback: The Hives – One Year Later « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

