Food/Recipes

Summer Fresh Turkey Rice Rolls

I promised a recipe today, and couldn’t not deliver.

Today’s been a rough day in terms of my hives and overall well being.  I’ve been really down on myself and think that the stress and frustration with this whole ordeal is really unfortunately one of the reasons that I’m not seeing any improvement.  I ended up coming home from work at noon today due to the fact that I and incredibly sore throat and was literally shaking with chills non-stop. So bad that I was only comfortable sitting in my car that had been basking in the sun on this 26 degree day – with a sweater on!  That being said, I spent my afternoon working on taking care of my self.  I ate a massive bowl of chicken noodle soup to soothe my throat and warm up my insides, followed by some herbal tea.  My mom came over with some lavender oil in hopes that some aromatherapy might help in relaxing my mind and soul. I took my prescribed dose of Prednisone right after lunch, and I think I can actually say that I am feeling a bit more relaxed and at piece.  My arms, which were completely covered in hives this morning are actually clear now, so perhaps this idea of trying to relax and de-stress is a good thing!  I’ve been looking into something pretty interesting, and kind of deep, in terms of helping me fight this ordeal.. something which I’ll share with you tomorrow.

Now on to this recipe!

Summer Fresh Turkey Rice Rolls

What you need:

  • turkey breast
  • olive oil
  • lime
  • salt & pepper
  • fresh parsley
  • Greek yogurt
  • mayo
  • smoked paprika
  • rice paper wraps
  • lettuce
  • carrots
  • cucumber

What to do:

Step 1 – marinate the turkey breast strips

– in all honesty, I didn’t do any measuring here, just use your judgement.  I did include one clove of garlic, the juice from half of a lime, chopped fresh parsley, a dash of salt and pepper, and a few glugs of olive oil.  Mix it all up, cover with saran and let marinate for at least 30 minutes

Step 2 – prepare your sauce giving the flavours time to do their thing

– mix 2 parts yogurt to 1 part mayo, then add the juice from half of a lime, followed by smoked paprika to taste

Step 3 – grill your turkey breast

– it takes about 5 minutes a side (just to be sure you don’t under-cook it)

– while the turkey is cooking prepare your veggies by cleaning them and slicing into thin strips, leaving the lettuce in large leaves.

Step 4 – gather all of the ingredients that will be included in the roll

– get creative here!  I used what I had on hand – carrots, cucumber, and lettuce. Something exotic like mango would probably be amazing in these! (unfortunately Chris isn’t a big fan)

– soak your rice paper as per the instructions on the pack – it takes about 5 seconds – and stuff those wraps! Don’t forget to include the sauce!

– one big tip that I find really helps is while you’re stuffing and rolling the wrap, have another piece of rice paper soaking and roll the wrap in a second sheet of rice paper. I find this lends to a tighter and more sturdy wrap in the end.

Step 5 – slice in half and enjoy!!

These most definitely make a nice cool and refreshing summer supper.

5 thoughts on “Summer Fresh Turkey Rice Rolls

  1. HI Laura,

    I love your blog, especially the recipes. So glad you have found a wonderful hubby and seem very happy. Keep up the blogging. I enjoy your enthusiasm and outlook on life!

    Mollie x

  2. Pingback: Turkey Lime Soup Recipes

Leave a Reply

