Life

A Good Day

I’d be lying if I didn’t say that these hive didn’t make me constantly feel down in the dumps. I sit here, finishing up the 18th straight day of hives all over my body.  Still no dermatologist appointment; still no idea as to what’s going on and causing this. After waking up with a swollen and numb lower lip this morning, I’ve been instructed to go to the walk-in clinic tonight after work to get help via a prescription for something to provide relief. (My dr is booked solid until next week).

I’ve been trying so hard to remain positive during all of this, but the lack of sleep and constant itching kinda makes it tough.

I kind of ‘woke up’ yesterday morning though when I made myself this baby for breakfast.

I wanted something new and delicious for breakfast and remembered reading about Donna’s breakfast cookies. I browsed through her different recipes and settled on this one.  The only change I made was that I omitted the chia (don’t have any right now) and added some walnuts and a splash of maple syrup.

O M G – My new FAVOURITE BREAKFAST!!!

 (I actually had it again today)

Finally I was starting to feel a bit more like myself. Excited about food again.  It made me feel so good that I rushed home to try to create a healthy oatmeal chocolate cookie recipe.

Unfortunately that cookie recipe was a fail in that they didn’t exactly stay together very well (I think I need more flour next time). But dang! They tasted amazing!

My spirits were lifted even more after actually spending some time in the kitchen instead of parking my little behind on the couch feeling sorry for myself. I made my way out to the back yard and did a little raking while I bbq’d some supper. (we had pork chops, potatoes and zucchini but I totally forgot to photograph it)

We’re going through a crazy drought here so the back yard is kind of crispy. I don’t like spending $ on water to water the lawn, only the gardens, so our lawn isn’t faring well. However, the good thing is that the weed that’s been trying to take over the lawn has died!  “Ding Dong The Witch Is Dead!” That’s what I started working on raking up last night.

While I was out there, I thought it would be fun to snap some shot of the lovely hives.. you know.. so you don’t think I’m lying. 😉

Yesterday was a good day and this is actually nothing in comparison to what I’ve been getting.  I’ve contemplated posting shots of the bad ones, but don’t want to completely gross you all out and scare you away. 😉

Since sweat really irritates them, I haven’t really been doing any sort of working out — which sucks!!!! But thankfully we had a nice cool night last night (it’s been really hot here lately) so Chris and I went out for a nice walk around the neighbourhood.

Yesterday was probably one of the best days I’ve had in the past couple of weeks.

 

3 thoughts on “A Good Day

  1. YAY!!!! I’m sooo glad you like them 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Your cookie looks awesome, sometimes the ugly cookies are the ones that taste the very best
    Those hives look super uncomfortable – i hope the walk in gives you some answers already
    SO glad you are feeling a little better – wish there was something i could do to help cheer you up more!
    Yay for dead weeds 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Hives – One Year Later « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

