Food/Recipes

Greek-Style BBQ’ing

Kinda…..

Sorta…..

Maybe???

I had some chicken breasts thawed in the fridge on Sunday with the idea of making some epic chicken souvlaki for supper.  The thing is though, I didn’t really want to have to deal with skewers. I find them very annoying to work with because sometimes, I find no matter how long they soak, you still struggle with trying to not let them burn when grilling on the BBQ. I also find it annoying to try and eat the meat off a stick.  So, I decided to do a little version of chicken souvlaki – sans skewer. 😉

Since I was unsure how this would work out, I was bad and didn’t really take pictures of the process. The end product however…. damn it was good!

Interested in what’s on my plate???

Let’s start with the tzatziki!

What you need:

  • Greek yogurt
  • shredded cucumber
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 clove of garlic; minced
  • s&p

What you do:

– mix it all up together and put it in the fridge until you’re ready to eat!!! easy peasy!   **the amount of each ingredient all depends on how much you want to make so just taste it as you go!**

Next up, the Chicken!

What you need:

  • boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • garlic
  • olive oil
  • oregano
  • salt
  • pepper

What you do:

– put all ingredients in a freezer bag and marinate for an hour or so (again, use your judgement on how much you use. all depends on your individual taste and how much chicken you use.)

– grill on the BBQ on low for approx 20 minutes or so.

– slice and serve

As for the salad… Although I love Greek salad, I’m not a huge fan of red onion on my salad or black olives.  I had goats cheese on hand, so I just made my own summer salad.

What I used:

  • romaine
  • cucumber
  • tomato
  • goats cheese
  • lemon basil vinaigrette (lemon juice, olive oil, fresh basil, salt, pepper)

Last but not least, the toasted bread.  Obviously pitas would have been the ‘Greek’ choice, but I had a hankering for some rye this week.  All I did was brush the bread with olive oil and toss on the grill.

It was an awesome, FRESH, summer supper.

Love!!!

3 thoughts on “Greek-Style BBQ’ing

Leave a Reply

