Food/Recipes

Refreshing Summer Salsa Salad

Yesterday was yet again another scorcher out there!  The wind was blowing like made, but boy was it hot.  I decided not to go and ride Chelsea knowing that it would be some sort of fight (crazy blowing winds mean monstors in the bushes to the eyes of a horse 😉 ).  Instead, I headed straight home with plans to wash my car and work on my gardens.  When I got home at 5:30, the thermometer still said 28 degrees!!!! Needless to say, I was so glad that I had another cool refreshing salad experiment on the dinner menu. 😉

Knowing that I’d have some leftover cilantro to work with, I thought about making our favourite fresh salsa to incorporate into a meal.  We couldn’t eat just salsa and chips for supper though, so then I thought – how about a salad?

You must make this one. 😉

Refreshing Summer Salsa Salad

What you need:

  • 2-3 large tomatoes; I used roma because they are more fleshy/less seeds
  • 1/4 of a red onion
  • handful of cilantro
  • juice of 1 lime
  • splash of olive oil
  • 1 can of black beans
  • lettuce of your choice
  • whole wheat nachos

What you do:

– gather up your troops

– roughly chop your tomato and onion – put into a food processor with the cilantro, lime juice and olive oil (oh so hard!)

– pulse about 3-4 times until you get a good salsa consistancy

– pour your mixture into a bowl and add a can of black beans for some protein

– let sit in the fridge for 30 min at least to let the flavours soak in (or eat right away if your impatient 😉 — I washed the car while it sat in the fridge) then serve on a bed of lettuce. Garnish with nacho chips. (I also added a teeny splash of ranch dressing)

This would also be AMAZING with a dollop of plain greek yogurt and some shredded cheddard cheese. Sadly, I didn’t have any of these ingredients on hand. They will be added next time though! 🙂

I’m definitely proud of this one. Fast, Simple and Refreshing!!!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Refreshing Summer Salsa Salad

  1. I made something very similar yesterday! i threw in an avocado and a few jalepenos. and ate it as a side salad to some pork chops. yummmmm

  2. What a great idea – this sounds like the perfect dinner on a hot summer day, the wind is still crazy today but its a lot cooler, i’m already missing the hot weather, lol!
    I’ll be making your recipe for sure, just replacing the cilantro, for some reason i hate the stuff 🙂

  3. P.S. Here’s my summer salsa: Chopped tomatoes, chopped yellow pepper, fresh chopped basil, chopped avocado, fresh lemon juice, sea salt + pepper. It is awesome with fish!

Leave a Reply

