Food/Recipes / Workouts

A Run + Some BBQ

My plan all day long was to hit the pavement as soon as I got home from work to embark on a run and then bbq up a storm for a fresh summer-like supper. Come 4:45, the sky was dark and rain drops were falling. With all the rain we’ve had over the last few months my reaction was something along the lines of “SERIOUSLY?!!”

Thankfully, by the time I got home, the rain was just falling lightly, so I sucked it up, got on my running clothes and headed on out. I wasn’t going to melt!

Do you like my new T that I got from doing the Nike+ 10K run a few weeks ago? 😉

It wasn’t too cold out (maybe 16 degrees) so the light rain actually felt really good at the beginning of my run.  I headed out on one of my regular routes and just let loose. At first, I thought that I’d just stick to a short 2K run or something but the sun had some out and my legs were just aching to keep on going. I added an extra little bit to my route and finished up a nice 4K on the dot.

I’m telling you, this new method that I’ve been practising the past couple months of walking when I need to during my runs is really actually helping to improve my pace. The dips shown in the graph above is where I walked during this run and I think overall, for me, I had a pretty great pace!

As for the black toe… it hasn’t been hurting during runs, but now a day after it’s ouchy again.  I wish the nail would just fall off and be done with if that’s what it’s planning on doing! grrr.

I was so happy when I got home from the run because the weather was actually holding up for me to bbq! yay!  On the menu I had boneless skinless chicken thighs, zucchini and quinoa.

Want my super-awesome BBQ chicken marinade recipe????? 😉

Lemon-Balsamic Marinade

What you need:

  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 clove of garlic – minced
  • a few fresh basil leaves
  • salt
  • pepper

What to do:

– get yourself an empty ziploc freezer bag

– put all of your ingredients in the bag and add your chicken ****honestly, I never measure how much of each ingredient I add. Be adventurous and just eyeball it. You can’t go wrong. ****

– close up the bag and smush all of your ingredients together so that the chicken is covered completely.

– now set it aside and let it marinate away.  The longer you let it marinate the better, but 30 min or so will do just fine.  I let it marinate while I went for my run last night. SO EASY! 🙂

– BBQ!!!

I had some zucchini to eat up last night too so I just sprinkled on some salt & pepper, brushed on some olive oil and tossed them on the grill as well.

Serve your lemon-balsamic chicken with whatever floats your boat. 😉  I had a craving for quinoa so I cooked up a pot and added a bit of lemon zest for that extra summery freshness.

All in all, it was a really good, well-balanced summery meal. Perfect for after a run. Chris is lucky that I actually saved him some for his lunch today! 😉

And just because… The lilacs started bloomin in my back yard so I just had to snap some shots while I was out there BBQing. So gorgeous and they smell incredible!! 🙂

Have a great day!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Run + Some BBQ

  1. I am so over this rain, too!
    It feels like it has rained for two months straight..so we better get a nice, warm and sunny summer 😀
    I love your t-shirt!

  2. Congrats on the run!
    im hoping that all my walking will actually help when im back to running!
    loove the tshirt! its really nice.

    and how i miss bbq. we dont hve one at the condo and i really miss just having a hot dog whenever i want. and bbq-ed veggies. sooo tasty!

  3. Yay for actually getting the t-shirt 🙂
    I agree with you about the rain, ontario is just non stop rain, i swear we all do happy dances when the sun comes out!
    I’m definitely going to borrow your marinade, lemon + balsamic vinegar = heaven!!!

    • I got a really cool bracelet with the t-shirt too! tiffany-style with the nike symbol on one side of the pendant and “run girl run!” on the other.
      Let me know how the marinade works out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

