Workouts

Girls On The Run

When I first heard about the Girls On The Run program on Caitlin’s blog Healthy Tipping Point last year, I knew it was something that I wanted to be involved in right away.  Knowing that Caitlin lives all the way down in Charlotte, NC, I knew that my first step was to find out whether or not the program was even run in my area. After one quick search, I found exactly what I was looking for.

A GOTR chapter was actually started back in 2004 in the GTA and is going strong.  Some of you may now be wondering what is GOTR?

Here’s an overview (source)

Mission: “Provide character development programs, in an environment that inspires young girls to discover their potential and have fun! Delivered by qualified and dedicated teams, Girls on the Run programs are built around social development and physical activity”

  • Is an experiential learning program for 3rd-5th grade girls
  • Has an innovative curriculum designed exclusively for pre-teen girls
  • Includes warm-ups, running workouts and games which teach important skills such as how to make healthy decisions and how to resolve conflicts
  • Prepares the girls for a 5km walk/run event
  • Challenges and encourages the girls, whatever their fitness level
  • Provides positive peer group experiences and role models for healthy living

In the GTA, they also provide a Girls on Track program

  • Uses the “Girls on the Run®” model, but focuses on issues of importance to 6th-8th grade girls
  • Provides all the elements of Girls on the Run® and addresses the intermediate school level
  • Includes lessons on healthy relationships, avoidance of tobacco, drugs and alcohol, eating disorders and personal safety
  • Supports the girls in their transition into their teenage years

After looking into the program in-depth, I realized how great of a program it was and actually really wish that something like this was available to me at that age. It could have been something to help get me out of my shell a bit more.  That being said, I obviously contacted the GTA GOTR group right away to see what I could do to be involved.

I would absolutely love to get the opportunity to coach some girls within the program, but sadly my work schedule can’t really allow for me to take off and coach in the afternoon. I then remembered reading about running buddies in the American chapter. You can volunteer to run with one of the girls in her final 5K run. Unfortunately, they don’t have the running buddy system here in Canada yet. And then I found out about Women On The Run. 🙂

The Women On The Run 5K is run right before the Girls On The Run 5K the morning of June 11.  All proceeds from the Women On The Run 5K go towards the GOTR program.  Count me in!  Although I won’t actually be taking part in the GOTR program itself, I am at least going to be able to donate towards the program and cheer those girls on in their race!  My blogger friend Aneta has also registered and we couldn’t be more excited. 🙂  If you’re in the GTA and are free the morning of June 11, you should totally consider registering and running with us! The more the merrier!

If you want to get involved, but don’t want to run a 5K, you could sign up to be a race day volunteer. Or you could even just show up and cheer on those girls who have worked so hard!

Live in the US?  Caitlin made a great post HERE about how to get involved in your local GOTR chapter so check it out!

I couldn’t be more excited for June 11! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Girls On The Run

  1. Pingback: Women On The Run 5K – Recap | Starting Out Fit

Leave a Reply

