Gardening

The Garden – Week 1

This May long weekend is quickly coming to an end (boo!), but I am happy to say that it was a success garden-wise!

Thanks to the cooperation of Mother Nature, I was able to get all of my veggies and herbs planted and ready to go!  Now that everything is in the ground and I can actually see my vision coming to life, I find myself even more excited for this summer to see how everything progresses as the weeks pass by.  From now until the end of the gardening season, Mondays will be my updates day.  I’m really looking forward to actually seeing how everything grows from week to week.  🙂

Having attempting a garden several times, I have learned over the years that in order to achieve success when it comes to growing, you need to have a good starting base.  This year, I added about 12 bags of fresh gardening soil to my original soil and then tilled in a big feed bag worth of composted horse manure. (Chelsea is finally giving back in her own little way!! 😉 )  Believe it or not, in the past, I had always forgotten to actually fertilize my soil, so I’m really looking forward to seeing the difference this year with the help of the manure.

Since pictures speak louder than words, here you have it.  My garden and backyard patio…

Week 1

all photos taken 3 days after planting

Beautiful leafy kale

The bean section

Thyme

Basil

Tomato section

Garlic chives

Cucumbers

Green onion section

Rosemary

Brussels sprouts

Leek section

Lettuce section

Marigolds!!!! I don’t know why I never heard of it before, but this year, I did some research and read that spreading Marigolds throughout your garden can help ward of pests.  I’ve had a lot of trouble over the years with rabbits, birds, bugs, etc. eating my vegetable plants before they’re even able to produce. So, needless to say, I decided to give the Marigolds a shot this year!

Now onto the patio.  Obviously a work in progress…

Shady impatiens garden

Patio planters

And finally one last lonely Marigold awaiting some edemame seeds.  I’m still trying to find the seeds to plant edemame. I know it’s out there, so I’m hoping that I can find some this week and get them planted asap.

Now after all these pictures and talk of gardening, off I go back out to weed my little heart out! … there’s a reason why you’re not seeing any pictures of the perennial garden today. 😉

Leave a Reply

