Food/Recipes

Inspired Eats

One of the things that I love so much about the blogging world is that there is NEVER a lack of inspiration when it comes to making new and excited things in the kitchen.  Due to being stuck in training for work the past week, I had to hold off posting these photos/dishes, but I promise the wait was worth it.

This past week, my meal plan consisted of some very exciting new recipes which were totally inspired by the blogging world.  The fact that pork chops just happened to be on sale this past weekend, just made it all pan out beautifully.  Today I want to share three ‘new-to-me’ dishes that I re-created for meals this week.  Each one of these dishes were outstanding and have most definitely earned their place in my “must make again!” list. 😉

First up we have some Protein Packed Pancakes.

I spotted this recipe last week over on Julie’s blog in a guest post done by Janetha over at Meals & Moves.

The only real alteration I made to the recipe was to up the anty and make it for 2! 😉

  • 2/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 2/3 cup low fat cottage cheese
  • 2/3 cup (or two) egg whites
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

– I blended it all up in my blender and then poured the mixture onto my frying pan to cook.

Served with strawberries and some amazing 100% maple syrup. (this recent jar of syrup I have is incredible!!! it was made by friends of my in-laws) I made this for Chris and myself Sunday morning when I got home from doing the barn work. It definitely hit the spot with that added protein. Janetha was right – you can NOT tell that there’s cottage cheese in these. 😉

Later on that Sunday, I decided to start my Asian-themed week by making some healthy spring rolls.  Inspiration for these came from Nienke over at Revel! As soon as I saw the image of the spring rolls she made last week, I knew that I needed to make some for myself.  It was really fun to make these and a great thing to make with Chris!  And that’s something we don’t really get to do very often.

Here’s our troops

  • rice paper
  • thinly sliced cucumber
  • thinly sliced carrots
  • thinkly sliced, cooked, pork chops
  • blanched asparagus spears
  • teryaki sauce

– the assembly method is easy peasy!  simply roll everything up in the rice paper (after letting it soak in warm water for 5 sec), slice and enjoy!!

We used 2 pieces of rice paper to try and get the rolls nice and tight although some were still a bit loose. Maybe we need to stuff them more next time?

We dipped them in teryaki sauce and OMG they made such an amazing supper!!! I’m definitely looking forward to trying these again – perhaps serve them as an appetizer at a bbq like Nienke did.

Lastly on the menu for my blogger-inspiration week I have a teryaki pork salad.  I found the recipe on Nami’s blog Just One Cookbook last week when she made Top 9 at Foodbuzz! I practically started drooling at first sight and new I’d have to make my own version this week.  Last night was the night and boy was it good!

I didn’t have all of the ingredients that were called for, so I just threw this together.

What I used:

  • pork chops
  • brown basmati rice
  • garlic (2 cloves minced)
  • ginger (1 tbsp minced)
  • teryaki sauce
  • romaine
  • green onion
  • tomato
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1 tsp peanut butter
  • 1-2 tsp red wine vinegar
  • olive oil

What I Did:

– brought a frying pan to medium heat, added some olive oil, the garlic and ginger. Once the garlic and ginger started to soften, I added the pork and left to cook.

– since we only eat brown rice in our house, I chose to cook it the night before as it would save me the 50 minute wait time when I was actually wanting to eat it! 😉  While the pork cooked, I reheated the rice.

– after about 5-6 minutes, I flipped the pork and added some teryaki sauce to the pan while it continued to cook.

– next up, prepping the rest of the ingredients —- diced the green onion and tomato.. cut up the lettuce and made the dressing

– my added touch to this recipe was drizzling it with a lime & peanut dressing which I made by mixing lime juice, red wine vinegar, peanut butter and olive oil

– once the pork was fully cooked, it was then sliced and prepped for assembly.

– in a bowl layer the rice, lettuce, pork (first drizzled with a little extra teryaki sauce), green onion and tomato.  The dish was finished with a drizzle of the lime & peanut dresssing and PERFECTO!

Such an incredible dish that I never would have thought up on my own. So thank you Nami for your amazing talent that landed you in the Top 9 and brought me to your blog.  This is yet another recipe that is in the vault and will definitely be made again in my kitchen!

7 thoughts on “Inspired Eats

    • It actually took me a few minutes to find the wraps, all while they were right in front of my face on the shelf the entire time! 😉 I drizzled a bit of teriyaki sauce in the middle on the meat and it worked great! Thanks again for the inspiration!

  1. Pingback: The Meal Plan Re-Vamped!: September 8-14 | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

