Food/Recipes

Slow-Cooked Mushroom Chicken + Friday Randomness

While making our meal plan last weekend, I decided that it was time that the crock pot made a return!  I went through this stint during the winter where I was using the crock pot to make at the very least one meal a week, but for the past couple of months, I stopped.  I don’t know why I stopped using the crock pot because it makes dinner SO much easier!!!!

A couple of weeks ago, we had scooped up a package of boneless skinless chicken thighs on for 30% off.  It wasn’t on our grocery list, but we figured that it was a deal we couldn’t pass up.  The chicken went straight in the freezer until I could figure out what to do with it. 🙂

Slow-Cooked Mushroom Chicken

Toss the following ingredients in your crock pot:

  • 4 potatoes; cubed up (I used russet but you can use any kind)
  • 1 medium-sized onion; chopped
  • sliced mushrooms – however many or little you have
  • chicken – breasts obviously would work just as well
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 can of mushroom soup + 1 can of water

Set your crock pot to low and cook for 8 hours.

Our house smelled like heaven when I got home last night!!!!

In order to get some green veggie goodness in, I steamed up some green beans.  Everything went so well together.  It’s definitely a recipe I’ll make again.

Friday Randomness

…just because it’s Friday… and because I can 😉

  • I love the smell of fresh rain. All of the winter dirt must be washed away now because it was drizzling as I came back into the office after lunch today and it just smelled FRESH.
  • I’m supposed to be running a 10K tonight for the Nike+ Run Girl Run Virtual run!!! I’m not going to lie, I’m scared shitless!!! I haven’t run a 10K in over a year. Wish me luck!
  • Married life is great!  It’s no different than life before marriage.. incase you were wondering. 😉  It’s still pretty fabulous though!
  • I started working on my vegetable garden last weekend. As in, I spent an entire afternoon working on it last weekend and am really excited to get back out there tomorrow to do some more.  I have big plans for my back yard and veggie garden this year and can’t wait to blog all about them!!

Have a great weekend!!

One thought on “Slow-Cooked Mushroom Chicken + Friday Randomness

  1. Pingback: The Meal Plan: September 15-21 | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

