Jamaica / Wedding

Our Wedding Trip – Part 1

Hello blog world!

I have been a married woman for 2.5 weeks now and I finally have the time to start sharing our incredible wedding week with you all! I have SO much to tell you! 🙂  Since there is so much, I’ve decided to make it into a little ‘series’ which I’ll stretch out for the remainder of the week. So, sit back, relax, and pretend you were there with us! 🙂

Part 1

On Tuesday, April 5, my parents, Chris and myself headed out on our adventure. Our flight to Jamaica was an early one. So early that we had to be at the airport around 3am! In attempt to ease some of the stress, my parents got us all a room at the Sheraton right at the airport.  Upon our arrival, we had a delicious supper and then attempted to get a few hours of sleep in before making our way to terminal 1. … this is where I say my parents got a great sleep with their snoring and odd noises. Chris and I on the other hand… no so much..

Wednesday, April 6 – approx. 3:30am… We’re checking in! It’s real now!

I actually couldn’t believe how fast the time at the airport flew. We did a little waiting while enjoying our coffee

But then before we knew it, we were on the plane! Front row, ready to go! Maybe just a tad excited! 😉

The flight was fairly uneventful. It took about 4 hours from Toronto to Jamaica, so really nothing too too bad. Enough time to eat a pretty good breakfast, catch a movie and ‘try’ to get in a nap. Although there was no way I was sleeping. I was WAY too hyper!

I am pretty sure I had mentioned this before, but if I didn’t, this was mine and Chris’ first trip! Like EVER!  I mean, we’ve both done the Disney World thing as kids, and I made it to LA once with family, but neither of us had actually flown somewhere off the continent!  So, you can probably only imagine the excitement we felt as we saw this out our windows the morning of April 6. (these were taken on my dad’s camera)

JAMAICA!!!

Being upgraded to ‘Elite Plus’ had its priviledges. 1 getting to be the first ones off the plane when we landed in Jamaica! I couldn’t believe how fast we made our way through the airport, through immigration and over to baggage claim. By the time we got to the baggage claim, we still didn’t see any of our guests, so that gave us ample time to prepare for the weather we would feel when we stepped outside!

p.s. I am SO glad that I will never have to travel with a wedding gown ever again! It was such a pain hauling it around as my carry-on!

Since we had such a large group with us (21 on that day), Signature Vacations had organized a private bus just for us to bring us to the resort. It was spacious, on the newer side, and air-conditioned! Score!

I learned several things about driving/drivers in Jamaica right away.

  1.  they drive on the left side of the road! I had no idea!
  2. they drive REALLY fast!!!! there are speed limits, but they are definitely not followed!
  3. they have no fear!! sitting at the front let me see this. we drove head on with other vehicles so many times until someone just got out of the way! lol
  4. if your group wants to stop half way to the resort for beers and rum punches, the driver is happy to oblige! 😉 (the pic above was actually taken after the pit stop)

We made it to the ocean!!!

The drive from the Montego Bay Air Port to our resort probably took about an hour and a half, but I didn’t mind at all. It was really nice to actually get to see a portion of the island as we drove along. You don’t exactly get to immerse yourself in the reality of the island while on the resort (which I didn’t mind at all), so it was nice to get a glipse while on the way.

Before we knew it, we had arrived!

Oh Riu Negril, how I love you!!!

They were ready and waiting for our group to arrive. As we walked into the lobby, we were greeted with some punch and very friendly faces directing everyone where to go.

They had envelopes ready for everyone in our group which included a map of the resort, along with some general information and towel cards.  Since we arrived so early in the day (it was around 11:30 when we got there) the rooms weren’t ready, but they were happy to keep everyone’s luggage in the lobby, strap on a wrist band and send everyone on their merry way to start enjoying the resort.

While the staff worked on getting the rest of our group organized, a few worked on doing something extra special for Chris and I. The moment we arrived they started searching through their paperwork to try and find a room to upgrade us to!  In the end, we were upgraded to one of the best suites on the whole resort!!! We didn’t take too many pictures, but I did take this epic video on our second-last day. 😉

And with that, Part 1 is over! Check back soon for more on our trip.  Next up, the resort and what we did while we were there!!! (aside from the obvious) 🙂

One thought on “Our Wedding Trip – Part 1

Leave a Reply

