Workouts

The Spartacus Workout

So something BIG happened on Saturday.

It was a dreary rainy day in our neck of the woods, and I decided against driving up to the farm and attempting to ride Chelsea. Instead, I actually convinced Chris to let me work out with him! This is a BIG deal because aside from a few runs together, he has NEVER let me workout with him before! I was so excited! It was fun working out right beside him, and boy did we ever get our butts kicked!

Chris had seen the Spartacus Workout in Men’s Health a while ago and we decided to give it a shot.

Essentially, the idea of the workout is to do as many reps of each station as you can for 60 seconds each. You take a 15 second break between each station, followed by a 2 minute break after you complete all 10 before doing it all over again!

Station 1 – Goblet Squats (I used a 5 lb hand weight)

Station 2 – Mountain Climbers

Station 3 – Single-Arm Dumbbell Swing (I used a 5 lb hand weight)

Station 4 – T-Pushup (I used 2 lbs hand weights)

Station 5 – Split Jump

Station 6 – Dumbbell Row (I used 5 lb hand weights)

Station 7 – Dumbbell Side Lunge and Touch (I used 5 lb hand weights)

Station 8 – Pushup Postition Row (I used 5 lb hand weights)

 

Station 9 – Dumbbell Lunge and Rotation (I used a 5 lb hand weight)

Station 10 – Dumbbell Push Press (I used 5 lb hand weights)

For full details of the workout, including descriptions of the moves – go here.

You’re supposed to complete 3 sets of this each workout. Umm… we finished after 2!!! It was a total BUTT KICKING workout!! Butt kicking as in now, 2 days later, my abs still kill when I cough or laugh.. and my butt and backs of my thighs kill!

So not a hot picture, but hey! I just got my but kicked!!! At least my abs are starting to show!!! (kinda, sorta, maybe) 😉  …yes.. that is a Rambo carboard poster waiting to be hung in our home gym..that’s all Chris 😉

One thought on “The Spartacus Workout

Leave a Reply

