Food/Recipes

Easy Tuna Pasta Dish

Happy Friday everyone!

Come Friday, I’m usually just dragging my little behind waiting for the weekend to start but this morning I found myself actually feeling fresh and happy! Maybe it has to do with the fact that I’m back on an actual running schedule? Maybe it has to do with the fact that I could hear birds chirping outside as I got ready for work? (I can’t remember the last time I heard them) Or maybe it really is just because it’s Friday!!! ..and the fact that we are going out for an epic sushi feast tomorrow night! 😉

All that being said, I started my day off with this

A nice hot coffee and an oatmeal banana pancake.

It’s going to be a good day! 🙂

Now on to the actual purpose of this post… I whipped up a really quick supper last night that turned out to be pretty darn tasty!  It definitely deserves to be shared. 😉

I’ve come to realize that tuna is my absolute favourite protein when it comes to making fast and nutritious dishes for weeknight suppers.  It’s so versatile and at $.77/can when it’s on sale, it’s cheap too! So here you go:

Easy Tuna Pasta Dish

What you need:

  • fusilli pasta (or any other type that is bite sized)
  • 1 can of tuna
  • 1 can of chick peas
  • 2 large tomatoes – diced
  • 2 cups baby spinach
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • grated cheese (optional)

What To Do:

– Cook your pasta as usual; drain, and put back in your pot.

– Add the can of tuna, chick peas, spinach, tomatoes and stir.

– Cook over med-low heat for about 5 minutes and then add the juice of half a lemon.

– Serve topped with a bit of grated cheese (optional).

That’s it! This recipe honestly couldn’t be any easier! It’s perfect for week nights when you’re running short on time.

This meal was on my plate in about 20 minutes from start to finish. It was exactly what my body was craving after my 3 mile run – which went well btw! (click on the daily mile image in the right column!) This recipe made so much that I’ve got our  weekend lunch taken care of now! 🙂

Wedding DIY

I also wanted to share that I completed another little DIY project last night for our guests bags!

Bookmarks!

They were so easy to make, and free too!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Easy Tuna Pasta Dish

  1. ur tuna dish looks good. im still waiting to make that tuna pad thai that u made. im gonna make it and love it!

    re:wedding. so the bf and i also want to get married down south. we are not engaged yet but its gonna happen inthe next 6-12 months. and im loooooving jamaica for the destination. i checked out many many resprts yesterday (0n the net) and am in love with teh one that u chose. i will have many many many questions for u in about a year or so. plus i looove all the DIY things that you have made. I really do not wanna be a copy cat, but i might have to borrow a few ideas of yours. i think u r totally creative and unique! great wedding planning!

Leave a Reply

