Food/Recipes

A Meal Plan: 5 New Supper Ideas

Last night out of nowhere, I proclaimed to Chris “We’re going to eat something new for supper every day next week.”  And with that statement came some immediate excitement within me to get creative in creating a fresh and new plan!

Last fall, we had purchased a white board that now lives on our fridge.  The purpose of said board was to use it to jot down our weekly meal plan so that we knew ahead of time what we were going to have, all while saving on on our grocery bill.  Well, that sounds all fine and dandy, but I’m not going to lie…it’s been hard keeping up with that plan.  Now that tax time is coming around (ie. property taxes due! hate those) we need to get back on track.

It’s been pretty quiet at work here today, so I decided to take advantage of the free time and draft up a pretty decent plan + grocery list.  I’m really excited about this and just thought I would share.  If I can help give anyone else an idea for a meal, I’m happy! I would just love to be able to make this a regular feature on the blog, but we all know that I’m not perfect and that it’s tough to keep up with regular features sometimes.  So perhaps I’ll be able to make this a monthly thing? 😉

**I’m going to display this by listing the meal, followed by a list of ingredients to show how simple they are and how I plan to utilize ingredients throughout the week. Using an ingredient more than once means $$$ saved!

Laura & Chris’ Feb 19-26 Meal Plan

SATURDAY: supper @ Laura’s parents’ house

  • need to bring something sweet – banana/oat cake?

SUNDAY: Roasted Chicken with Barley Pilaf and Sautéed Kale

  • whole chicken
  • carrots
  • onions
  • garlic
  • celery
  • barley
  • kale

MONDAY: Asian Mushroom Soup Bowl (inspired by Caitlin’s dish)

  • soba noodles
  • a variety of mushrooms
  • green onions
  • pork chops
  • soy sauce
  • watercress chestnuts
  • chicken stock (which will be made from the chicken the night before)
  • kale

TUESDAY: Tuna Pad Thai

  • rice vermicelli noodles
  • carrots
  • zucchini
  • fresh cilantro
  • pad thai sauce
  • peanuts
  • green onion
  • mushrooms

WEDNESDAY: Slow-Cooked Turkey & Tomato Stew

  • ground turkey
  • garlic
  • fresh cilantro
  • diced tomatoes
  • cumin
  • coriander
  • carrot
  • onion
  • zucchini
  • potato
  • cous cous
  • plain yogurt

THURSDAY: BBQ Black Bean Pita Pizzas (inspired by Mamma Pea’s dish)

  • BBQ sauce
  • black beans
  • red onion
  • pitas
  • cheese
  • pineapple
  • rosemary

FRIDAY: omelette for Chris.. ??? for me. Our inventory at work starts next Friday and I’m being fed supper at work.

We are planning to go and do our groceries tonight so I’m very interested to see if we’ll be able to bring our weekly bill down at all.  We usually average around $60/week.  I will have to make sure I follow up!

p.s. I can’t believe how nice it is outside!!! the sun in shining and my car said 11 degrees C at lunch time! It’s unfortunate that I am stuck here in the office.

p.s.s. I’m going to hopefully buy new shoes tonight!  The Running Room currently has a pair on hold for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

