Food/Recipes / Workouts

I Think I Need New Shoes + Protein Cookies?

When the weather forecast showed a possibility of + temperatures today, my first thought was “OOooo I can run outside after work!”  Since the weather forecast isn’t always right, I brought my running gear to work with me this am just in case I’d be hitting up my parents’ treadmill instead. Thankfully, when 5:00 rolled around today, it wasn’t raining, it was still fairly light outside AND it was 6 degrees! Score!

I rushed straight home after work, put on my running gear and head on outside for day 2 of my second week of the half-marathon training plan.

On the agenda for today = 2.5 Miles.

I’m not going to lie, the run wasn’t easy. I was still having cramping issues in the same spot!  I tried the different suggestions made by you lovely readers such as drinking a ton of water this afternoon, and I worked on concentrating with breathing in and out when my right foot hit the ground (the cramp is on the right side).  The methods worked a bit, but the cramp was still there. Perhaps I need to not eat so soon before running?  I had a snack at 4pm and was out by 5:20 … seems like a long enough time to digest no?

Anyway, I completed the run with 3 walking breaks in 26:19.  I averaged a 10:31/m pace.  Upon doing a lot of research and thinking, I have decided that I am fully going to embrace walking breaks throughout my half-marathon training. I remember being so proud of myself for running my entire 10K race last spring with no walk breaks, but come to think of it, there’s a big possibility that I could have finished with a much faster time.  I was essentially crawling at the 9K point during that race due to a cramp, but was too proud to walk.

I will never be too proud to walk during a run again.

I really think the walking breaks helped get me through today.  If I didn’t take those brakes, a big part of me would have tried to quit and that’s not what I want at all. And hey, walk breaks and all, I still had a great time, and worked up a REALLY good sweat..

Too bad my shoes got all wet and muddy though!!! Damn you melting snow!

Speaking of my shoes, I think I’m in need of some new ones.

I haven’t felt any pain during my runs as of yet, but after the last few, I’m finding some pain on the lower back of my left calf along with my left ankle.  The toes right next to my pinky toes have been hurting after runs lately too as if they are bruised.  Not good signs right??

Good thing I bought myself a Running Room Groupon a few weeks ago. I’m thinking that I’m going to be using it much sooner than later – as in perhaps this weekend. I don’t need a major injury.

After my run today, I had a nice big glass of water and a nice big protein cookie! Yes, I said protein COOKIE. 😉

I actually woke up this morning and decided that I needed to make some cookies because I had no snacks to take to work.  I literally had a quick shower and ran down stairs to create this recipe.  No joke, I flew off the seat of my pants with this one folks and I’m pretty happy with the results.

***note: if you’re going to make these, they are NOT sweet but are awesome.

Zucchini Protein Cookie

What you need:

  • 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all purpose flour
  • 1 C oats
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • handful of walnuts
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 C all natural unflavoured whey protein
  • 2 zucchini – grated
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 C brown rice syrup
  • 1/4 C chocolate chips

What to do:

– mix all of your dry ingredients, minus the chocolate chips, in a large bowl and set aside

– mix all of your wet ingredients in a smaller bowl and stir into the dry

– stir in the chocolate chips

– drop by the teaspoonful on a cookie sheet covered by parchment paper

– bake at 350 degrees F for 10-12 minutes

Easy peasy!

Now I’m off to check out The Running Room’s website!

 

3 thoughts on “I Think I Need New Shoes + Protein Cookies?

  1. walking breaks are awesome. i used to be against them too. i thought they were for wimps and that it made me less of a runner. but now i love them!

    good luck with new shoes!
    hey when the weather is nicer, maybe we can plan a blogger meet up/run???

Leave a Reply

