Food/Recipes

Bruschetta A New Way

Seriously, Mother Nature – WHY?????

I am so sick and tired of being cold all the time!  We just can’t seem to get a break up here this winter. It’s either freezing cold or snowing and I’ve had enough.  The thermometer on my car this morning topped off at -17 degrees C. Just balmy right? My face and lungs and nose actually hurt by the time I made the quick walk from the parking lot into my building. Not fun!

The weather man says temperatures are supposed to rise on Saturday and be above 0 all next week.  Here’s hoping he’s right this time!

Vent over. 😉

Now onto some food!

I’m pretty proud of the little doozy that I whipped up for supper last night.  My idea behind the meal was to create something simple, yet fresh. Something warm and comforting, but extremely healthy.  I think I succeeded!

So what brought me to craving this?  We had what they like to call a “lunch & learn” at work yesterday meaning I was fed greasy spoon pizza for lunch. After eating only two small pieces, I felt like garbage for the rest of the afternoon. On my drive home from the farm after work (where I just visited with Chelsea btw .. didn’t ride due to some knee pain) my mind got to work thinking what I could throw together that was fresh and healthy.  I knew we had a huge tub of baby spinach in the fridge and quite a few tomatoes that needed to be eaten and it wasn’t long until I had an idea.

Upon my arrival at home, I got into my comfies, fed the cats and gathered the troops. (although I ended up not using the bread – this meal would be great served on to a piece of toast)

I then started off by preheating my favourite frying pan to about med-low heat.  While the pan heated up, I finely chopped one onion and 2 cloves of garlic. Next up, I added some olive oil to my pan – just a tad – no more than 1 tsp is all you need.

Swirl the olive oil around and add the onions and garlic.

I cooked them while stirring constantly for a couple of minutes and then added a dash of salt and pepper and about 1-2 tsp of dried basil. (fresh basil would make this dish SO much better, but ’tis not the season for me unfortunately.)

Stir up the mixture and let it cook.

Meanwhile, fill a shallow sauce pan with water and bring it to a boil.

This recipe is all about multi-tasking folks! 😉

While you wait for the water to boil, dice 2 tomatoes and add them to your onion/garlic mixture.

Stir them up and let it cook.

The water should be boiling now, so add some vinegar (about 1tbsp).  For me, vinegar is the key ingredient to get good poached eggs.

Turn the water down to low and slowly drop in your eggs 1 at a time.

Set your timer to 5 minutes.

Now back to the tomato mixture. At the last minute, I decided to add some of one of my favourites.  Good quality balsamic vinegar.  This is a spray bottle, so I did about 4 sprays worth.

With the vinegar added, the mixture was stirred and looked like this:

Your bruschetta mixture is now ready. So transfer it into a bowl.

While the pan is still hot, toss in a huge handful of baby spinach about 2 cups worth.

While that cooks (it takes maybe 1-2 minutes), strain your eggs and let them dry a bit on a paper towel. Grab a plate and layer your creations starting with the cooked spinach, then some of the bruschetta mixture, some grated cheese (I didn’t have any parmasean so I used 7 year extra extra old cheese and it was perfect) and finally your egg (or eggs). Top with a pinch of salt and pepper and you’re good to go!

I’m not going to lie, all of these flavours went together perfectly! I definitely succeeded in what I set out to do.

Here’s some more drool-wothy pictures for you.

Yup, it was as good as it looks. 😉

Let me know if you give this a shot!

p.s. I totally just realized, that I have been cooking vegetarian meals for C and I more often lately without intentionally doing so. Go figure!

4 thoughts on “Bruschetta A New Way

Leave a Reply

