Life

A Father/Daughter Date

This past Saturday was my last official father/daughter date as a single woman! Wowzers!  With only 2 months left to go until the wedding, it’s finally actually starting to feel REAL and I couldn’t be more excited!

For the first time in years, we ended up here

The holy grail of Montréal Canadien fans (yes I am a Habs fan – born and raised), the Bell Center in Montréal.

I couldn’t tell you how many games my dad and I have gone to together over the years.  When I was a kid, he always boasted how I was “the son he never had” – even though I have 2 brothers!  My brothers never really enjoyed going to the hockey games. One of them would spend the entire time watching the screen instead of the ice! 

I was probably about 9 or 10 when my dad decided to bring me to a game instead of taking one of the boys.  From that moment on, we had found our ‘thing’ that we loved to do just the two of us. Growing up, we probably managed to go to at least one game a year either in Montréal or Ottawa (I grew up living in Cornwall which is right between the two). But when my parents made the move to the gta and I went off to university, the tradition sort of went by the wayside.

I think we only managed to go to 2 games in the past 8 years since the move took place.  We drove to Ottawa once coming back the same night, and we also attended one in Toronto – seeing our Habs play both times.  The last time we were supposed to go to Montréal just happened to be the weekend that I had my big accident.  The day before we were supposed to head to Montréal for the game, was the night Chelsea accidentally kicked me in the face breaking my jaw.  We never made it to that game.

All of that being said, when I stopped in my parents’ house Friday night on my way to the farm to ride, my dad told me to be VERY careful and not get kicked in the face this time!! 😉

Our Saturday started bright and early meeting at the train station just after 7am.  Instead of driving, we opted to take the train.  That meant spending about 4.5 hours essentially looking at this:

Unfortunately not very exciting. 😉  But we did get in some good conversations while proclaiming that we were definitely going to fly next time!

We arrived in Montréal just after 12:00 giving us time to grab a quick bit to eat and then make our way over to the matinée game between the Montréal Canadiens and the New York Rangers.

I can’t even put into words the feelings I got when we walked into the Bell Center.  It just felt really really good.

I know I’ve never really talked about hockey on this blog, but here’s some shots of the game anyway.

Warm-up/Practice

During the game

We won!

First star of the game – Carey Price (ie. the Habs hero of the day)

I didn’t end up making it home until 11:00pm that night, but it was totally worth it.  I can’t remember the last time my dad and I got to spend a day together like that just the two of us, and it was really nice.  Married or not, this is a tradition that we’ve vowed to continue for as long as we can.

I ♥ my daddy and I’m proud to say it! 😉

One thought on “A Father/Daughter Date

Leave a Reply

