Wedding

A Bride’s Obsession With Weight

Being a bride-to-be myself, I understand the thoughts that go through most bride’s heads. Thoughts of losing weight and looking the best we can possibly look. Who doesn’t want to look their best on their wedding day?

The only thing that I really don’t get is that why do so many brides feel the need to go to the extreme and cross the line?

I am an avid reader and poster on a wedding-related message board and although many posts that I have read over the past few months upset me, one that I read today in particular really gave me that irk-factor.  The bride-to-be stands 5’6 and currently weighs 138lbs.  To someone who is 5’3 and 124lbs (yes I just posted my weight online 😉 ) that seems pretty normal.  So what irked me?  This girl thinks that she needs to loose 15-25lbs before her wedding!  Her ultimate ‘goal’ is to weigh only 113lbs at 5’6 tall!  Is she crazy?!?!

I can’t understand what is going on in these girls minds that make them want to go to such extremes.  There are so many different threads where girls discuss their experiences with so many different extreme diets and cleanses in attempt to lose those ‘last 20+ lbs’.  In all honesty, I just don’t get why people don’t understand that these fads aren’t entirely healthy.  These girls just look for a quick fix and then aren’t any better for it in the end.

So, that being said, if you’re a bride-to-be reading this post, please don’t go hurting your body going to extremes.  If you want to make some changes before your big day, how about working on cleaning up your diet by concentrating on eating more fresh and clean foods while saying good bye to processed and junky crap?  How about take some time out of your day to go for a jog, or even a walk?  Just get moving. 🙂

All that being said, just please just be kind to your body. I’m sure that no matter what, you’re still going to look GORGEOUS on your wedding day! 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Bride’s Obsession With Weight

Leave a Reply

