Home Projects / Life

Weekend Happenings

What a weekend!

Be prepared for a post of random happenings and thoughts. 😉

There definitely isn’t enough hours in the day when you spend chunks driving along the 401!  It feels like this past weekend just went by in a flash.  It was worth it though because MY DRESS IS READY! 🙂

Alterations on my dress are complete so I can now say that I will be able to walk down the aisle without tripping on my ridiculously long dress!  I wish I could show you pictures, but for obvious reasons, that can’t happen until after the big day. I am really excited for you all to see it though!

Our weekend began at 6pm Friday night when we headed out onto the highway with light flurries falling from the sky.  By the time we got to Kingston, around 8pm, flurries were heavy and we had already seen about 3 cars in the ditch!  We stopped for a quick supper before heading back onto the nasty, slippery hwy to continue our trek driving only about 95-100km/hr.  It was a long long trip. After 4 straight hours, we had finally made it to my grandma’s house.

Waking up to this view out of the front window Saturday made it all worth it.

Boy do I ever miss that neighbourhood.

I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned before, but I grew up living right next door to my grandma.  It makes for some very mixed emotions when we go visit because I so badly wish I could really go home you know? I couldn’t help but point my camera in that direction. 😉 Take a look at the house in the background below. The window on the side of the house was my bedroom window.  My parents built that house. We moved in just before I turned 4 and moved out when I was 18. I miss it every day.

Just for good measure…Chris in front of grandma’s house (which my parents built as well).

Saturday was a pretty full day.  My grandma and I went to the seamstress’ house where I tried on my dress and did lots of walking while she made some finishing touches.  After lunch, Chris and I went into town to visit my other grandma for the afternoon and then finished off the day eating some St. Hubert.  We felt like a movie after supper, so we picked up The Social Network. My thoughts on the movie? Meh.. 😉  It was good for what it was, but I don’t see myself ever watching it again.

Sunday morning we got up early, packed up the car and said our good-byes. My grandma’s ‘cat’ Callie, was sure to see us off.

I just couldn’t not post a picture of her haha she’s ginormous!

Thankfully the weather was much better for the drive home. We did run into some significant snow in Kingston yet again, but made it home in just over 3 hours this time. Much Better!!

Once we got home, we made our list and headed out to the grocery store. I was starving by the time we got back so I got to work right away making my newest breakfast addiction. Another amazing recipe courtesy of Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point.

Meet the sweet potato pancake!

I can’t get over how amazing these things are!!! I’ve made them a lot the past week including this morning when I made a banana/walnut/blueberry version. 😉  Caitlin is a breakfast genius!

After I ate my sweet potato pancake, I started working on the laundry and then this sudden craving came over me! I needed to run.

The sun was shining, so I felt that I had to take advantage and get my little butt out there!  It was my first run outdoors in weeks and my first run in over a week – since before my cold hit.  I wanted to go farther and run longer, but my body was just not feeling the same as my heart.  The frigid wind made my lungs burn, so I cut the run short after only 15 minutes and 2.22km.

I came home unhappy about my performance, but happy for the fact that I actually went out in the first place.  It was already 4pm by the time I went out and it would have been much easier to just curl up on the couch and watch tv.  I made the move to run, so I’m happy about that.  Now that my cold seems to be gone, my mission is to start building my endurance again. It’s amazing how it just melts away when you’re forced to take time off!

p.s. Another great thing about visiting grandma

I just wanted to share this with you all! My grandma had this bedding set which her friend had won but didn’t like.  My grandma didn’t like it either, so she asked Chris and I if we were interested. Well, it was right up our alley and totally something we would have picked up for ourselves!

Our bed used to look like this:

Now it looks like this!!

It looks all grown up and stuff! 😉  We have big plans for this room now that will go perfect with this new bedding.  Picture chocolate brown floors, dark brown bed, dark feature wall… oh I can’t wait!

4 thoughts on “Weekend Happenings

Leave a Reply

