Life

The Dentist Saga Continues

Last night marked dentist appointment #3 in the last 3 weeks. (I had to get some fillings fixed) As I mentioned before, I made it one of my personal health goals to get back on track with my dental health.  I want to be 100% healthy all around, so I had to conquer my fear of the dentist and just bite the bullet and go.

Thankfully, I found an incredible office with amazing staff. I’ve felt so comfortable there which in turn has made this step easy. Back I go tomorrow to get some more fillings fixed on the other side. Fun!

Now for some food..

Last weekend I finally decided to try Caitlin’s grilled banana sandwich.  I pretty much drool over it any time she posts one on her blog, so the day I was to give it a shot was bound to come.

It was amazing.

So amazing that when I failed at retrieving some chili from the crock-pot last night (it had been in the garage)…

…I made a grilled banana sandwich for supper!

What is a grilled banana sandwich you might ask?

It’s essentially grilled banana sandwiched between 2 pieces of french toast.

You can find the original recipe HERE on Caitlin’s blog.

I modified it just a tad.

What You need:

  • 2 pieces of whole wheat bread (or your favourite bread)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon x 2
  • 1 banana, sliced

What you do:

– heat your frying pan to just over medium and grease with a tad of butter or cooking spray

– while your pan is heating, whisk together the eggs, milk and vanilla

– dip the bread in your mixture (like normal french toast) and place on your hot pan

– when you flip it, sprinkle 1/8tsp of cinnamon on each slice and then place your sliced banana on the pan as well

– the banana cooks quickly so flip them after about 30-40 seconds

– once everything is cooked, assemble your sandwich and drizzle with some pure maple syrup (the fake stuff just doesn’t cut it) 😉

It’s such an amazing recipe! I just chose to add some milk and omit the sugars.  It’s definitely going in my regular breakfast or last-minute supper rotations.

p.s. I’m thinking of changing my current running plan/schedule and start training for an attempt at my first half marathon!  More to come on that in a few weeks.

2 thoughts on “The Dentist Saga Continues

Leave a Reply

