Workouts

Yoga, Eh?

Believe it or not, before yesterday, I had never tried yoga.

*gasp! I know!*

Yoga seems to be all the rage these days, especially in the healthy living blog world, but I had never actually given it a shot. It’s not like I didn’t have my reasons though.

[source]
For one, I’ve never been comfortable with the idea of a gym atmosphere – can you believe that I have only actually been to a gym once? and that was in my first year of University.  I’m a very self-conscious person and just chose to avoid situations where I might feel that I’m being judged. There’s also the $ factor. I am very frugal when it comes to my money and can’t justify spending it on a gym membership or classes when I can do workouts at home for free.

So there you have it. My reasons.

Yesterday though, I started thinking.

I was still feeling under the weather (and still am now – holy cough batman!), so I chose not to go to the farm after work. It would have been cold and damp there and going would also result in a not so nice drive home due to freezing rain.  I wanted to still do some sort of workout, but my body didn’t feel like it would be up to a tough Jillian routine. So then what?

The first thing that came to my mind was yoga.

My muscles were tight from a not so great sleep the night before and I started thinking how nice it would be to give yoga a shot and try to stretch my whole body out. I began my google search  – “beginner yoga workouts – free” and started taking a look around.

I stopped on YogaDownload.

After registering for the site, I managed to find a 20 minute very beginner yoga workout which I downloaded right away. I got together two of Chris’ foam squares from our basement ‘gym’ to make a makeshift mat, printed off the poses, and did some yoga.

Poses in this beginner work out included: childs pose, table top, down dog, rag doll, samasthiti, mountain, forward bend, half lift, chaturanga on knees, cobra (my fav), spine twist and savassana. I’m assuming a very basic workout, but it was perfect for me seeing that it was my first time.

My thoughts on it?

It felt AMAZING. The quietness in my house, mixed with my deep, slow breathing .. and the stretches.. I loved it.  And to be completely honest, I’m not even sure if I would like doing it in a gym-type environment with other people around. I loved the sense of solitude I felt while I performed the poses. By the end of the routine, it had felt like my whole day at the office just washed away.

I’m definitely thinking that I’m going to explore that website more in attempt to practice on a regular basis.

Question for you: Do you practice yoga? If so, how did you start?

2 thoughts on “Yoga, Eh?

  1. Hey Laura, found your blog through BDW on my quest for more fitness tips. Yoga is fantastic. I tried it for the 1st time in August and got hooked. You are completely right that all of the stress from the workday is completely gone by the end of the session plus I’ve also enjoyed the increased flexibility and toning as well. The classes I take are in a gym atmosphere, but they close the doors and dim the lights, so you never feel too self conscious (thankfully) and most of the ladies in the class are newbies too so its great to not feel completely out of your element when you lose your balance. Glad to hear you enjoyed your first experience! 🙂

  2. yay for yoga! thats awesome that you tried it and loved it.
    i hope you stick with it.
    i love yoga. i havent practiced much in the last few months, but i wanna get back into it. my fave position is pigeon pose, bc it feels awesome after running.
    once u get the hang of it, u should try hot yoga. all (well, most) studios offer the first class for free!

Leave a Reply

