Food/Recipes

Easy Chicken Cacciatore – Crock-Pot Style

I told you that I had a few recipes for you this week! 😉

Considering I have a deep freezer full of chickens thanks to an amazing deal I scored last month (read about that here), a chicken recipe was a must this past weekend. I had an open can of tomatoes and an open jar of pre-made sauce in the fridge that needed to be used so I though why not a chicken cacciatore?

I started off by googling for recipes, but then again found nothing that interested me.  My instincts worked for the roast the day before, so why not give it a whirl again right?

I don’t mean to boast, but…. my instincts were pretty bang on yet again. 😉

 For you:

Chicken Cacciatore – Crock-Pot Style

What You Need:

  • 1 whole chicken (or a pack of breasts, thighs, legs..whatever floats your boat)
  • 2 large carrots; roughly chopped
  • 1-2 celery stalks; roughly chopped
  • 1 large onion; chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic; diced
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • 1/2 jar of pre-made sauce (or more plain tomatoes)
  • a few big pinches of basil
  • a few big pinches of oregano
  • salt & pepper (just a touch)
  • extra virgin olive oil

What To Do: (this is another hard one folks!) 😉

– put all of the veggies into your crock-pot; mix

– add the tomatoes and sauce along with the herbs; mix

– set your chicken on top and push it down so it sinks into the mixture a bit then drizzle a bit of olive oil on the meat followed by a sprinkling of salt and pepper

– cover up your creation

– set on low for 8 hours

 

I served it on a little bit of whole wheat spaghetti and a bed of baby spinach.

Nutritious and delicious! 😉

3 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Cacciatore – Crock-Pot Style

Leave a Reply

