Food/Recipes

Perfect BBQ Beef – Crock-Pot Style

I told you that I’d have a few crock-pot recipes for you this week! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve been doing a lot of searching around for different recipes to use with my fun little appliance, however in about 90% of them, there’s always an ingredient that I’d rather not use.ย  That is when I decided to stop searching around and start creating on my own.ย  The fun in having this crock-pot – or in any sort of cooking actually – is the thrill of tossing together random ingredients and actually getting something edible, or even amazing out of it! Throwing your own list of ingredients together can also ensure that you keep it as healthy as possible! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Saturday’s crock-pot supper sort of came unexpectedly. I wasn’t really planning on making something in it that day, but when Chris and I were out grocery shopping first thing, we came across a great sale on beef sirloin roasts. We managed to get a pretty decent size roast, enough to make two separate meals,ย for only $7!ย  We’re also huge fans of a good cut of beef, so we couldn’t pass it up. ๐Ÿ˜‰

While doing the rest of our grocery shopping, my mind started thinking about what I could do with this roast using our crock-pot. I mean, we had the thing, so we might as well use it right?

After discussing with Chris, we decided we wanted a nice tender roast with a hint of smokey bbq flavour.ย  I’m not going to lie, we thought about making a version of pulled beef for sandwiches but then realized that wouldn’t be the healthiest option.ย  Although it would have tasted amazing, there is a LOT, and I mean a LOT of sugar in BBQ sauces – so we opted not to dump a whole bottle of BBQ sauce in the pot.

even though it would have tasted amazing… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Knowing what kind of flavour we had in mind, I got to work. I did end up using BBQ sauce, but not a lot. I used just enough to get that smokey flavour – it was perfect. ๐Ÿ™‚

I apologize for the not-so-stellar after pictures. I’ve really got to make myself some sort of light box pronto.

Crock-Pot BBQ Beef

What You Need:

  • a decent size of beef sirloin roast (or whatever cut you may prefer) – I’d say we used just under 2lbs
  • 1 large onion – chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic – minced
  • 1 cup cremini mushrooms – sliced
  • 1 cup low-sodium stock (I used chicken because that’s all I had; beef or veggie would work too)
  • 1/3 C chicken & rib smokey BBQ sauce (or your favourite BBQ sauce)

What To Do: (it’s oh so difficult!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

– place your onions, garlic and mushrooms in the crock-pot

– set your beef on top, then pour the BBQ sauce right on top, followed by the stock

– cover and cook on high for 5 hours (low for 8 would work too)

This will result in an extremely tender, fall-apart, smokey piece of meat that is to die for.

I served this with some bokย choy (super good for you!) that I simply added to the crock-pot to cook for 5 minutes prior to eating it.

This one has definitely been added to my “must make again” list ๐Ÿ˜‰

p.s. despite feeling exhausted and sick, I dragged my little butt onto the treadmill last night. I completed a 30 minute interval workout and felt SO much better after! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Perfect BBQ Beef – Crock-Pot Style

  1. So…hi, I’m a stranger! It just so happens that I have a defrosted sirloin roast and no ideas. I googled “crock pot sirloin roast,” and VOILA. You have a recipe…posted TODAY. It’s fate.

    Thanks in advance!

Leave a Reply

