Food/Recipes

Lean Turkey Sliders – Yes Please!

I did something pretty great this weekend. I created 3 new dinner recipes (2 for the crock-pot) that were all amazing! We’re going to have a good food week here folks!

One of my current food missions is along the lines of “If there’s a way to make it healthier, I want to figure it out.” So with that thought in mind, I decided to put together some turkey sliders for our Friday night dinner. I chose to be a little creative and boy am I glad that I did. With the inclusion of veggies in my burgers and my experiment of baking vs. frying on a grill pan, I managed to make my already healthy turkey burgers even better.  Want the recipe? 😉

Turkey Sliders

What You Need:

  • 1 package extra lean ground turkey
  • 1 carrot – grated
  • 1/2 – 1 C baby spinach – chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 C whole wheat bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • few pinches salt
  • few pinches pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard

What To Do:

– put the turkey into a large mixing bowl

– now essentially just dump in all of your ingredients

– get on in there and mix it all up with your hands

– form into slider-sized patties and set onto a parchement covered cookie sheet – this way no oil is needed

– bake at 400 degrees for approximately 20-25 minutes (until meat is cooked)

– serve with your favourite toppings and sides. I put just a touch of light mayo on these along with a spinach leaf and piece of tomato. We had them with a simple spinach salad topped with a red wine vinaigrette along with some homemade fries. yum!

I can’t wait for you guys to try this one! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Lean Turkey Sliders – Yes Please!

  1. Love this recipe, so simple. It’s exactly what I strive to help others with! I like using panko (japanese bread crumbs) for an extra crunch and top the burger with some BBQ sauce. Yummy! Great blog, I love that you keep your workouts organized and written down, it holds you accountable! Healthy New Year!

  2. Pingback: Veggies For The Non-Veggie Eater « My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

