Uncategorized

I Will Run Like The Wind! ..Someday

I know it hasn’t even been a whole year yet since I have started running, but deep down inside of me that wishes I could run faster and stronger. I know it’s the competitive part of me just creeping out. 😉  Thankfully for me, all hope is not lost!  I’ve done my research and have learned that it is possible to become a faster and stronger runner providing I keep consistent with my workouts, continue to eat properly and incorporate some interval training into my routine.

I had been thinking of doing some interval training this winter in attempt to break up the boring treadmill runs and when I saw this one on Julie’s blog Peanut Butter Fingers the other day, I knew it was the one.

Looks do-able right?

Hmmm I thought so to. But boy was I wrong!!

I mean, maybe I should have taken consideration when Julie said it was hard?

My oh my!

I made the plan to attempt this workout yesterday right after work on the treadmill in my parents’ basement.  I had surprised myself with the excitement I felt all day leading up to this workout. It was actually really nice to exclaim to Chris that I felt that I got my running mojo back! I couldn’t remember the last time I felt so excited about a run! Great news! 🙂

So after my long day at the office, I head over to my parents’ place, turned on the tv to The Office and hit the treadmill.

I knew this was going to be a tough workout right from the get go. I usually keep my pace around 5.1 for longer runs on the treadmill and it was only once I actually began that I realized I was STARTING at 6! Yikes! 😯

I stayed strong and continued to tell myself “I can do this!”.

Until I increased the incline to 5.

I have never really played around with the incline on the treadmill so when I upped it to 5 my immediate reaction was “holy S*$T!” I pushed through and kept the incline at 5 until minute 10 and then made a decision. If the Couch to 5K program taught me one thing last year it was that doing things the slow and steady way WORKS. I wasn’t going to lose if I didn’t continue on with the inclines on this workout. And to be 100% honest, I probably would have injured myself trying or quit half way through.  I wanted to complete the entire 30 minutes no matter what, so after minute 10, I dropped the incline to 4 and left it at that for the remainder of the workout.

Did I feel defeated for not doing the workout exactly as shown? For a second, yes. But then I quickly reminded myself that I had already made myself proud by stepping on that treadmill in the first place. It would have been way easier to head straight home from work and park my butt on the couch while I waited for Chris instead. BUT I decided to go for a run instead. And I was actually pretty darn excited to go for that run too which is pretty awesome!

What did I get out of it? I now have a little challenge ahead of me!  I am going to try to continue my interval training once a week (probably every Wednesday) for the remainder of the weekend and I believe that come spring time, I will see a vast improvement. 🙂

4 thoughts on “I Will Run Like The Wind! ..Someday

  1. Pingback: Weekly Workouts: #1 | Starting Out Fit

Leave a Reply

