Uncategorized

I Love My Crock-Pot

Meet my new favourite kitchen toy, the crock-pot.

I’m not going to lie, I was totally surprised when Chris and I opened up this gift from my parents on Christmas day.  How did they know? ..well I’ve probably been randomly talking about how handy a crock-pot would be for only the past year or so, but still! How did they know?

Chris commutes to work which means on an early day, he’s home by 7pm. But, sometimes it’s not until well after 8pm.  I on the other hand don’t commute, but I do ride Chelsea after work and now that it’s dark at 5, I also do my weekday runs on my parents’ treadmill.  And what does that mean?  Well I am also not usually home until around 7 as well.  After a long day at the office and then a workout, I find it really hard to find the motivation and TIME to cook up a proper nutritious meal for the two of us. So that’s where my excitement for this new crock-pot comes in!

Chris was the lucky one who got to take our new crock-pot on her maiden voyage last week when he tossed in a chicken with other yummy ingredients such as onions, carrots, apples and bacon! Gasp! I’m not going to lie, the house smelled like heaven when I came home from work that day. The chicken was to die for.

Knowing that it worked amazingly well, I was all gung-ho to give this magic appliance a go yesterday.

I had thawed out a pack of 2 pork tenderloins Monday (which only cost me $2.60 btw) and started hunting for a recipe.  I couldn’t really find anything that I wanted to make, or actually had all of the ingredients for, so I chose to just wing it. How else do you find out what works right? 😉

I dragged my little butt out of bed a tad earlier yesterday morning and found myself chopping veggies like a crazy woman.  I tossed everything in the crock-pot, pushed a few buttons and that was it! A healthy dinner was actually made before 7am!

I found myself daydreaming all day long about the smells that would be greeting me when I came home after the farm.  Thank goodness Chelsea was good. Actually as a side note, I had an absolutely INCREDIBLE ride last night on Chels. It’s rides like that which totally make up for the bad ones. Magic. Anyway where was I? Oh yes, delicious crock-pot creation!

I made it out of the barn right on schedule, but unfortunately due to a snow fall and non-salted roads, my drive home took longer than usual. I did get home safely accompanied by a stomach that just wouldn’t stop talking!

This is what I came home to

Well actually I shredded the pork before snapping these shots, but still, you get the idea. 😉

Just Awesome.

I think I’ll call this one

Slow-Cooked Pork & Onion Stew

What’s Inside:

  • 1 large onion – diced
  • 1 large carrot – peeled and chopped
  • 2 large potatoes – chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic – minced
  • 1-2C sliced mushrooms
  • 2 pork tenderloins
  • 1 package Liptons Onion Soup Mix
  • 2-3C water
  • 1C frozen peas

What I did:

– before work prepare and toss onions, carrot, potatoes, garlic, mushrooms into the crock-pot and stir

– lay the pork tenderloins on your veggies and sprinkle everything with the onion soup mix

– pour the water on, cover and set your timer.

– I cooked this on low for 8 hours

– When you get home, add your peas, shred your pork and cook until the peas are warm (approx. 5 minutes)

– Serve and enjoy!

I just loved this dish!  It was made with very little effort and is completely guilt free because of the virtually fat-free cut of pork I used.

Want to know the best part?

I have figured that this dish cost us about $4 to make. Both Chris and I ate it for supper last night leaving 3 more servings to toss in the freezer! That totals to only $.80 a meal!!!! 80 CENTS for a HEALTHY meal! 😉

Awesome.

I’m looking forward to put my thinking cap on and becoming creative with this new toy!

Do any of you have a favourite crock-pot recipe that you want to share?  I’m hoping to use this baby at least 2X a week.

3 thoughts on “I Love My Crock-Pot

  1. I ADORE the crock pot. It is a savior for easy meals!

    I like doing pork + some bbq sauce together to make pulled pork sandwiches. Or chicken with salsa then shredded to use in tacos. I also have a couple crockpot chili and soup recipes up on my blog. Yep. I love my crock pot.

Leave a Reply

