Uncategorized

Pancakes For Supper?

Sure! Why not? 😉

Saturday was a fairly busy day.  We woke up by 8, had a delicious breakfast consisting of some scrambled eggs and toast and then ventured out at 9am to do our grocery shopping for the week.  The Saturday morning grocery shop has been part of our weekly routine since Thanksgiving and it’s great!  It’s so nice being at the stores as soon as the food gets put out. The stores aren’t really busy and there’s actually stock of items we want! It’s also really nice to get it out of the way right at the start of the weekend.

Once the groceries were done, I proceeded to head out to the farm while C stayed home to do his workout. The farm was, well… interesting. Chelsea was a bad girl Thursday night and tossed me. I then found out that she was a bad girl Friday as well when she chose to break out of her field! So not like her! Needless to say, due to me being sore all over, I chose to lunge her (exercise her from the ground) vs. hoping on her back Saturday.

Fast forward a bit, throughout the afternoon I did all of the laundry and we put up our Christmas tree! 🙂  We had planned to do something with these turkey breasts that we had for supper, however come 5:30 we realized that we forgot to take them out of the freezer – oops!

That was when the questioning began… “what do you want for supper?” “I don’t know, what do you want?” “I asked you first!” etc… we’re bad like that. 😉

That was when I decided that I wanted pancakes.

And when I want pancakes, I whip out my trusty Walt Disney Cookbook!

 

This baby was my very first cookbook.

Check out how old it is!

I’m not sure when my parents actually bought it, but I remember cooking the majority of the recipes in here when I was a kid.  In terms of pancakes, this will always be my go-to book. It’s a fail safe recipe that always works perfectly.

I made 3 variations – plain, black berry and chocolate chip.

They were amazing!

I can’t even remember the last time I made pancakes before Saturday. But I can definitely tell you that they’ll be made again in the very near future. 😉

2 thoughts on “Pancakes For Supper?

  1. I recently discovered that pancakes make a delicious, easy-to-make supper too, especially after having had chicken for lunch. I got my recipe from The Commonsense Kitchen (Tom Hudgens) — not exactly as evocative as your Mickey Mouse Cookbook, but delicious all the same!

Leave a Reply

