Uncategorized

Barley For Breakfast?

Good news folks!

Back in May, C and I ran a 10K race in honour of a little boy named Jack who had cancer – see this post.  Well, word just hit the street that Jack was just given the clear by his doctors and now 100% cancer-free!!!!! 🙂 Such good news!

I also didn’t end up having to struggle with my headlight last night.

(a little more good news for you there 😉 )

Thankfully I have some great coworkers and one of the guys offered to change it for me yesterday afternoon. Score!

I was desperately needing to get it changed asap because…

WE’RE GOING ON A ROAD TRIP!!!! WOOOOOOOO!  You’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out where we’re going. 😉

Now on to some FOOD!!

Yesterday while visiting Peanut Butter Fingers, I found myself very intrigued with Julie’s over night barley bowl and instantly thought that I wanted to give it a shot for this morning’s breakfast.  C and I just discovered a love for barley and with its nutritional content, I find myself wanting to eat more!!!  Knowing barley is super hard before being cooked (in comparison to oats), I rushed right home to prepare it and get it in the fridge to start performing some magic.

First step: Barley

Next, I poured just over 1/4C of it in a bowl and added some skim milk (just over 2X the amt. of barley):

Then I added some vanilla! Oh how I love vanilla.  I figured that would give the barley a nice taste for a breakfast meal.

I then stirred it together, covered with saran and popped it in the fridge.

Fast forward this morning.

I woke up so excited to try a new creation!

Sadly, I had an over night barley FAIL. 😦 *sigh*

Although it had softened, there was still a chewy crunch to it that I wasn’t a fan of so I put the bowl back in the fridge and made this bowl instead:

One of my usual bowls of oats, strawberries, banana, peanut butter, chia seed and skim milk.

It was awesome as usual, but I was still bummed that it wasn’t a barley bowl.

Perhaps it will be softer by tomorrow morning?

Lets REWIND now back to supper last night.

According to the meal plan, supper was to consist of a combination of these:

What do you say did I make with all of this?

Well a pretty epic salad tossed in my garlic dressing of course. 😉

My plate:

And C’s plate: (more protein for him)

The meat was extra lean turkey breast and the rest of the ingredients, well… are pretty obvious. 😉

It was amazing.

I still can’t shake my barley bowl fail though…. 😦 Oh how I hope it works for tomorrow!

One thought on “Barley For Breakfast?

  1. aww bummer about the barley! i made mine w/ greek yogurt (not milk), so maybe that’s the difference? i hope it works out for you!

    also, that’s WONDERFUL news about little jack! 🙂

Leave a Reply

