Uncategorized

Just Call Me Molly Maid

Wow! Yesterday was a busy day!  We literally spent about 90% of the day cleaning!  I wish I could say from top to bottom, but we did scrub the main floor and upstairs! 😉  Furniture was rearranged and dusted…floors were vaccuumed and washed. You might as well just call C and I Molly Maid.  Now it’s done though and it felt great to come home to a clean house last night.

My day started bright and early (ie. 6:50am) with a bowl of these:

This (a new flavour which was really good!):

And a cup of coffee.

I then was out the door by 7:30 to head  up to the farm for my Sunday morning job.  I’m really actually enjoying the job in these summer months when most of the horses spend the majority if not all of their time outdoors. That means less work for me. 😉  In the winter when they’re in, I’m mucking the entire barn which is about 14 stalls and spending about 2 hours or more doing it. In the summer, I’ve had much less to do — yesterday I had 4 to clean — meaning I was home before 10am. Awesome!

I came home craving a green monster (of course).

Notice something different in here in comparison to my usual combination???

I didn’t have many berries left (only 4 teeny strawberries) so I decided to throw a Granny Smith apple into the mix.

So the mix included:

  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 4 teeny strawberries
  • 4 handfuls of spinach
  • 4 ice cubes
  • a few splashes of apple juice

Believe it or not, this was the first time my green monster was actually GREEEEEEEEEEEN!!!

The apple flavour in this was amazing!

C deemed it the best green monster I’ve made yet!

After I enjoyed my green monster, I got to work making supper.  – Making supper at 10:30am you might ask??? 

It was a cool and somewhat rainy day, so I decided that I’d throw something together in the crock pot. Crock pots are so great for days that you know you’re really not going to be wanting to cook come supper time.

The crock pot got plugged in and then we got CLEANING!!! We worked like busy little bees until I realized I was STARVING yet again!

We wanted something quick and easy for lunch, so at about 12:30 we took a break from cleaning and I made one of these:

Which we split and had with a bowl of salad. I love those little pizzas!

After lunch, while the oven was still on from lunch, I then prepped another part of our supper.

Meet me gorgeous sweet potato squash!

I picked this baby up at the market last weekend and was so excited to finally get to try it. So I baked it for about 40 minutes and later on scooped out the yummy squash, mashed, added a pinch of salt and a teeny bit of butter then enjoyed!

The afteroon was spent with more CLEANING, and some last minute errands. I was pretty upset with my grocery shopping trips this weekend. I could not for the life of me find SWEET POTATOES!!! Is this not the time of year when they should be in an abundance????  Walmart had none on Saturday, and yesterday Loblaws didn’t even have a space for them! So no sweet potato baking for me this week. 😦

Come supper time, all I had to do was cook up a pot of barley and voila!

Supper:

It was AMAZING!!

In the crock pot stew:

  • 1lb of stewing beef
  • 4 carrots
  • 3 parsnips
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1/2 a big white onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 3 red potatoes
  • beef stock
  • white wine
  • 3 fresh rosemary sprigs
  • approx. 1C of peas

So easy to make and so satisfying at the end of a long day.

Our day then finished off by watching “Away We Go” with our friends.

I’ve been wanting to watch this movie for SO long! So I was very glad we finally did. I loved it!!!!  Everyone else thought it was good but too depressing/real at times.  But that’s what it was — real.  I loved the actors and the music was phenomenal. Glad I have this one in my collection.

Leave a Reply

