Uncategorized

For Every Few Good Runs, There's Always A Bad

Plain and simple, yesterday’s run did not go well.

I got up early and planned to head out by 8am.  I was feeling great.  In attempt to figure out what’s the best thing for me to eat, I tried having a yogurt and to of my homemade cookies along with a big glass of apple juice that was really diluted with water. I was all dressed and ready to go and then I realized my iPod wasn’t working!

My BRAND NEW iPod shuffle was not working.

Why you might ask?!

*deep breath*

Because my cat Boo thought it would be fun to chew away on the $40 head phones!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was LIVID.  My 4th generation shuffle was cool because there are no controls on the actual iPod itself.  You change the songs and control the volume all via the headphones… which for my are not covered in tiny cat chew marks. I can’t believe it.

Anyway, thankfully it still played with my other iPod headphones, but I could not put it to a certain playlist or control the volume.  I was almost in tears by the time I left the house (pms might have played a part too) and at that point really just not feeling a run at all.  I pushed forward though.

Now here’s my question for you all —– what do you eat/consume before heading out on early morning runs????  My body is so used to running after work, I just can’t seem to find anything to make it happy for my early saturday morning ventures.

3 weeks ago I tried a slice of toast with peanut butter and banana, along with a coffee.  I let it digest for about 40 minutes and headed out.  Within seconds literally of starting to run, I felt like I was going to throw up.  Not Good!!

So last week I tried omitting the banana and coffee. I had a slice of toast with peanut butter along with a glass of apple juice diluted with a lot of water.  Again, in the first few minutes of running, I felt sick!!

Now yesterday, as I mentioned already, I tried a yogurt, 2 homemade cookies and a glass of water basically (1/4 of the cup was apple juice).  AGAIN I did not feel so hot the first few minutes of running.  Then maybe 15 minutes in I started to feel really tired and weak!  I had a 5K planned, but totally ran out of steam at about the 4.5K mark.

It’s starting to get a bit discouraging.  Help!!

My body was so not happy with me after the run yesterday and was just screaming for a green monster when I came home. So that’s what I gave it.

In the mix:

  • 4 big handfuls of spinach (I split the batch with C )
  • a banana
  • big handful of blueberries
  • 8-10 strawberries
  • a couple splashes of cranberry/pomegranate juice

I found this new cranberry pomegranate juice last week and just had to try it.  It’s VERY good!!!

All mixed up….. a brown monster??? 😉

It was DELICIOUS!! My body was so much happier after that!  So happy that I then got changed and headed out to the farm for an amazing trail ride on Chelsea.  It was the perfect day for it!

Speaking of Chelsea, I’m on barn duty this morning – ie. need to muck the stalls!  So I’ll post later about our lunch and dinner yesterday! … along with a little bit of sad news too 😦

3 thoughts on “For Every Few Good Runs, There's Always A Bad

  1. Hey Laura,

    Check out my post from the healthy living summit on fueling for fitness. I can elaborate on any of the points if need be. http://www.mirandasjeans.com/?p=3038

    But the common theme I am seeing with your breakfast before runs is acid. The coffee is terrible for digestion, the apple juice even a little big is a lot of acid and could be causing the sick feeling. I would stick wtih the toast, nut butter and banana. I would avoid the green monster before a run as milk can have a similar effect too.

    You just want something small that is going to give you energy and protein, and then when you get home you can have more food to fill that breakfast void (have your coffee and juice after the run).

    Once school starts I’ll be doing the exercise early in the morings before class, so once I get back into the swing of it I can offer you a few more ideas if you want.

    Good luck!

  2. Thank you so much for the tips/recommendation. I’ll try the toast/pb/banana combo with a glass of water before the Terry Fox Run on Saturday and see how it goes.

  3. I’m bad in that I don’t tend to eat before early morning workouts. If I eat and then exercise too soon, I don’t feel well at all. I always end up feeling sick to my stomach. I don’t have the time in the morning to get up even earlier, eat, sick and wait for a while and then go for a run.

Leave a Reply

