Uncategorized

Burgers, Fries and Chocolate Cake?

That certainly doesn’t sound like a healthy dinner to me….

But it was!

I was pretty hesitant leaving work today, wondering if I was going to ride tonight.

I don’t know if it was my run last night..the weather (ie. the looming rain).. or a combination of both, but my right knee has been literally throbbing all day long. I even tried taking 2 Aleve but to no avail.  Regardless, I went to my parents’ place after work. I didn’t just go to change, but I went to play dress up! 🙂  My grandma came down yesterday for a visit, so I just had to model my wedding dress for her!!! She *is* the one who is going to be altering it for me.

I’m not going to lie… it was pretty awesome putting that dress on again. I definitely bought the right one! 🙂

I was in a great mood after that, so I decided I might as well head up to the farm.  I needed the workout, so I went for a light ride on Chelsea.

On the way home, I was really craving what was on the meal plan – burgers and fries.

It wasn’t just any burger though.  It was a President’s Choice Blue Menu TUNA burger!!! Topped with mustard, ketchup, sweet onions, tomato and pickles – on a whole grain sandwich thin.

And the fries weren’t normal every day fries.

I wanted to try something new this week that I had never tried before. So at the grocery store, I decided to pick up some parsnips.  I remember seeing many different parsnip fry recipes in the blog world, so I decided to make my own variation. I just peeled and sliced the parsnips, tossed in olive oil and some seasonings, and then baked them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes.

These were AMAZING!!!!!!

Parsnips are definitely going to make their way into my kitchen more often.

For dessert – another piece of chocolate cake.  How could I not?

About that chocolate cake… I promised you all a recipe!!

I got the idea to make a sweet potato chocolate cake via Jen over at Grocery Goddess Coaching via THIS post. I didn’t want to make a big cake, so I decided to cut quantities and such. Here’s what I did (it’s a recipe that is definitely going into my vault.)

Chocolate Cake – Healthified

What You Need

  • 1C whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2/3 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 C (heaping) cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 mashed sweet potato
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • just under 1/4C instant coffee
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 C and a bit of skim milk
  • approx. 1/4C water — use your judgment

What To Do

Mix all dry ingredients in a large bowl. (flour, brown sugar, cocoa, baking soda, salt, coffee)

Mix the following wet ingredients in a small bowl – sweet potato, vanilla, milk, egg

Stir in the wet ingredients into the dry. Then add water until you get the consistency of a cake batter (should be a little runny)

Pour into a parchment lined 8×8 pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for approx 30-40 minutes.  Times will vary depending on your oven.

Serve with or without a topping. I decided to melt a square of this

which I spread on top of my piece.

OMG this cake is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m telling you, this is going to be my go-to chocolate cake recipe from now on.

I think all chocolate-lovers should give it a shot. 😉

One thought on “Burgers, Fries and Chocolate Cake?

  1. Awesome! Your cake looks even more tempting than when I made it the first time. Also, I gave most of mine away and I think I’m going to have to make another one after reading this.

    Aren’t parsnips the best?? Have you tried nut-butter encrusted parsnip fries yet? Also to die for!

Leave a Reply

