Uncategorized

The Good and The Bad

There’s always a time to be good, and always a time to be bad…. *IF* in moderation right? 😉

Oh dearest healthy-living bloggers, I have sinned.

Last night after doing some painting in my home office and making supper, I made something very sinfully DELICIOUS!

Double fudge brownies!

OH … MY … GOD …

I’m not going to lie, these were absolutely to die for and just what I was craving last night.

I LOVE baking.  I’ve even been really good lately with my baking having fun experimenting making recipes as healthy as possible.  But when it comes to these brownies, I couldn’t hold back and change the recipe that was oh so dear to my heart.  They’re obviously not the best things for you, but as I said before, it’s all in moderation folks! Not like I eat these all the time!! 😉

So without further ado, the recipe – courtesy of my mom.

Double Fudge Brownies

1/2C butter
6 tbsp cocoa
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 C sugar
3/4 C flour
1/4 C chocolate chips (this was my chocoholic addition)

Melt the butter on low heat in a sauce pan.  Once melted, stir in the cocoa until combined.

Remove from heat.

Beat in eggs, one at a time, with a wooden spoon.

Stir in sugar and vanilla.  Then stir in flour and chocolate chips.

Pour into a greased 8X8 (or 9X9) square pan. OR, to feel a little better about yourself (like me last night), line your pan with parchment then pour in batter. This way no greasing is required.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.

These are HEAVENLY.  If you decide to indulge, let me know how they turn out!

Supper!

So I did actually have supper before this brownie frenzie… just so you know. 😉

Yet another recipe made on the fly! (like most of my meals are)

Since we’re still in this heat wave, I needed something cold for supper. Some sort of hearty salad.

In the mix: red potatoes, white kidney beans, 1 can of tuna, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, red onion, carrots and eggs.

The dressing: a small spoon of 1/2 the fat mayo, dijon mustard, red wine vinegar, some garlic & herb seasoning and some water to thin it out.

It was exactly what I needed at the end of a long hot day.  There was so much leftover though I think it will make an appearance again tonight!

Time to get to work!

Have a great day everyone! 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Good and The Bad

  1. I had a Twix bar last night. A coworker jokingly *tisked* me. I told her quite confidently “never deprive yourself, indulge your cravings”

    Looking at your brownies made me wish I had some in my fridge, thank goodness I don’t otherwise I would be typing this comment with one hand while the other fed that brownie into my mouth lol!

    • I fully plan on cutting the rest up and wrapping them individually to put in the freezer to eat one at a time…. at a later date …. hopefully on different days.

      Yes, that is the plan. 😉

  2. That fudge looks heavenly, it makes me wanna eat it right of the pan, lol! I’m sure my kids are going to love this. I better make your salad, too, to make up for the sweets, 😉
    Thanks for sharing this one, I think this will be perfect this coming weekend!

Leave a Reply

