Uncategorized

The Last Heat Wave?

Wow – we are having yet another HEAT WAVE here in Ontario!

The actual temperature was over 30 again today (for about the 3rd day in a row now) and humidex was over 40!!! Ugh.  Honestly, I don’t know how some people do it. Regardless of the temperature, I headed to the farm after work to say hi to Chelsea and ride Daisy (a pony that I’ve trained). Well, I definitely made it to the farm, but after sweating from just standing and talking, I decided that there was just no way I could ride.  My poor body just can’t handle working out in this hot and heavy heat! I felt exhausted so I headed home.  Upon my arrival at home, I worked on my office a bit more and then made my delicious supper.

Before I get to supper though, I must tell you about my total blog-worth lunch!

I don’t normally blog about my lunch because I usually forget the camera and just don’t have that much time.  I’m really lucky in that I get to go and have lunch with my amazing mom every work day.  It’s a nice break from my day and from the office, and the eats are pretty much always incredible!!! My mom should seriously do her own cookbook one day.

When I arrived at my parents’ house today, I spotted this little bugger – who my dad calls a little bA$#%d! 😉  He’s cute, but he digs and digs in their garden and beside their foundation!! (can you believe I took this picture from inside my car, through the windshield?)

And a close-up. Not the best quality, but he’s soooooo cute!!!

So lunch!!!

Wow.

First on the menu was a curried butternut squash soup with granny smith apple slices.

I’m not a huge fan of curry, but it was pretty awesome.

Next up was this grilled cheese sandwich.  Spelt bread, extra old cheddar cheese and granny smith apple slices. (can you see the theme here?)

MMMMmmmm MMMMMmmmmmm Good!!!

And on to supper!

I had some extra lean ground chicken in the fridge and about 1/2 a bag of slider buns in the freezer. So, chicken sliders it is!

The chicken burgers consisted of ground chicken, dijon mustard, fresh minced garlic, fresh minced onion, dried basil, oats, bread crumbs and an egg. I mixed it all up, formed tiny patties and grilled on my grill pan.  I then served on whole wheat slider buns, a tiny bit of mayo, a cucumber slice and a cherry tomato slice — with a simple salad on the side topped with a red wine vinaigrette.

This is definitely yet another keeper recipe!! 🙂 so good!

Now onto the dishes. How fun!

Good night all.

2 thoughts on “The Last Heat Wave?

Leave a Reply

