Uncategorized

Did Someone Say Cookies?

Yes, I did indeed make some amazing cookies tonight!

But we’ll talk about those later. 😉

I am so glad the humidity has finally left! (at least for a little while) Come 5:00 today, the temperature was about 26 and there was actually a breeze!!! I can’t remember the last time it felt that nice outside.  I rushed over to my parent’s house after work (I use their house as my pit stop), changed quickly, and then headed up to the farm to spend some time with Chelsea. Despite a few small issues at the start of our ride – honestly I wish I could understand what goes on in my horse’s head when she is scared at something that she’s seen millions of times – we ended up having a great workout. Pic from last summer.

I then made my way home to BBQ!

As per our meal plan, we had pork chops and cauliflower on the menu for today.  Since I had plans to make cookies tonight as well, I decided not to bother running the oven twice, so I bbq’d the cauliflower too!

Everything seemed to cook in about the same amount of time, which made things even easier on me. I was definitely feeling tired and lazy by the time I got home today, so was happy to have something easy to make.

I needed something green in there, so I just had a simple salad of romaine with my favourite low-fat ranch dressing drizzled on it.

My plate:

It was pretty darn tasty!

Now on to cookies!

I was inspired to make cookies today after reading a post by Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers. Her post was about indulging in foods that aren’t the best for us and how we might stop ourselves and get back on the healthy track – read it here.  I had told Julie how I am quite the cookie monster and have a huge sweet tooth and that the only way I could really stop myself from eating so many unhealthy sweets was to just make sure I didn’t have anything bad in my house.  That was until I came across a certain recipe for these chocolate chip cookies somewhere in internet land.  I have literally been testing and adapting this recipe for months and I think I’ve finally come up with the perfect combination. I emailed Julie the recipe earlier today just via what I could remember off the top of my head… I then figured I better test out that recipe I gave her just to make sure it was right.

So I ruffled up my sleeves and put on some tunes… I am such a Gleek and can’t wait for the new season!!!!

And then I started to bake.  The recipe I gave Julie, was definitely the right one. Phew!!

So without further ado, here is my HEALTHY cookie recipe.

Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 ripe banana
1/2-2/3C brown sugar
1tsp vanilla
1 egg
1-2 tbsp canola oil (or you could even sub. apple sauce)
1/4 C all purpose flour
1/2 C whole wheat flour
1 C oats
1/4 C coconut (optional)
4 tsp ground flax
2 tsp chia seeds
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 C semi-sweet chocolate chips (I like to use the mini ones for these)

In a large bowl mash the banana, then mix in the sugar, vanilla, egg and oil – set aside.

In a small bowl mix the flours, oats, coconut, flax, baking powder – but honestly you can really add almost anything you might want. (I’ve added almond slivers before, and ground almond before too)

Stir the dry ingredients into the wet. Once combined, stir in the chocolate chips. It should look like this:

Spoon onto a non-stick baking sheet (or on parchment) using a tsp.

Bake at 350 deg for approx 9-12 min. I find the baking time with these really varies. I took them out of the oven today at 9 minutes, but sometimes it seems to take longer. Odd, I know.  Just keep your eye on them and use your judgement. (sorry for the blurry picture)

This recipe yields about 2 dozen cookies – depending on how big or small you make them. I got just shy of two dozen today.

I quickly did the dishes after taking these out of the oven and promptly grabbed myself a few to enjoy while I came to write this post.

O….M….G….  Please try this recipe asap. These babies are to die for!!! It’s taking all of my power to not go and eat at least 3 more!

On that note, I think I’m just going to start getting organized for bed while I wait for C to get home from work so I don’t eat more. 😉

Good night!

4 thoughts on “Did Someone Say Cookies?

  1. Those cookies look great! I love cookies too. I have a little recipe that I use to make 2-4 cookies at a time, depending on if the husband is partaking. 2 cookies is enough to satisfy my sweet tooth and since I didn’t make a huge batch, there is no chance of me accidentally eating 13.

  2. Pingback: Love Fall – Hate Allergies « Tidbits From My Mind

Leave a Reply

