Uncategorized

Weekend Roundup

Is it really Monday already?

I don’t understand why the weeks always seem to go by so slowly, yet the weekends go by like a flash. It’s just not fair!

My weekend was fairly uneventful.  Plans to work on my horrendous-looking backyard were put to the wayside thanks to mother nature, so besides doing the usual house work and laundry, I feel like I didn’t really get anything accomplished.

Saturday started with a great ride on Chelsea however, due to one little error by yours truly, I am now sporting quite the bruise on my right knee thanks to an encounter with a jump standard. What’s a jump standard you might ask? A jump consists of standards and poles. Standards are what hold the poles up.

Well Chelsea attempted to jump the standard pretty much and I took it down with my knee.  After that though the ride was great! 🙂

After my time at the farm, C and I went to check out the local flea market where we visited with a friend and had one awesome hot dog! (I know hot dogs aren’t the greatest things to eat but once in a while it’s definitely ok) Since we were already out and about, we decided to tackle the grocery situation so we didn’t have to worry about it Sunday.  After a trip to Walmart, Loblaws and a farmers market, we came home and I made these:

I had made the dough for the crust earlier in the day and let it rise while we shopped.  Whole wheat pizza dough brushed with olive oil, fresh Ontario garlic, fresh Ontario tomatoes, basil from my garden and our fav, buffalo mozzarella. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

I’m not going to lie… they were pretty amazing!

Yesterday started with my usual Sunday morning routine.  Woke up early, had a bowl of Multi-Grain Cheerios & All-Bran along with an iced coffee. Then headed to the farm for 8am to do the chores.  Although it is a bit of a hassle to work every Sunday morning, I don’t mind it too much because it is a great upper-body/ab workout mucking stalls.  I managed to plow through all the work before it started pouring thankfully.  However, I was bummed because I wanted to run and work on my yard.  I don’t mind running in the rain under normal circumstances, but when it’s raining and super humid, my lungs just can’t take it. 😦

Regardless, I arrived home absolutely CRAVING a green monster. C was also really wanting one, so I got to work with the blender.

Our GM included 4 ice cubes, 3 big handfuls of baby spinach, 1 banana, about 10 blackberries, a big handful of blueberries, a few splashes of 100% apple juice and a few splashes of 100% cranberry juice.

Not exactly a “green” monster, but absolutely incredible regardless.

I love how C is loving these as much as me! We both realized that we had been slacking a bit lately food-wise and have turned a new leaf. With this new leaf, comes the return of green monsters!

We ended up going out for supper with some friends (bad blogger Laura forgot her camera!) and had some great eats. I had a turkey club with guacamole instead of mayo and a gorgeous garden salad with a small amount of balsamic vinaigrette.  We then went to check out “The Other Guys”

Ummmm.. HILARIOUS!!! This is definitely a must-see movie.  I find Will Ferrell is kind of hit and miss, but this movie was definitely a hit. The whole audience laughed the entire time! Can’t wait to see it again for sure.

And that was my weekend in a nut-shell. 😉

Going forward, I’m going to try to take more foodie pictures!!!

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

