Uncategorized

A Little Shredding & Some Pork

Honestly, I don’t know how much more of this humidity I can take.  For the second day in the row, I leave the office today to hear the radio tell me that there is a current humid-ex of 40 degrees Celsius.  Are you KIDDING ME?! Being a girl who loves my horse and counts on going out to ride after work, temperatures this high actually make it unhealthy to do so. If I’m having trouble breathing outside, I can’t even think about pushing my horse to work and risk her having troubles. So alas, no riding again for me today.

I needed a workout, so after snacking on some kale chips in the car

Fresh kale from my mom's garden

I decided to spend a little time with my friend Jillian Michaels and her “30 Day Shred”

And then I proceeded to make supper for C and I. Tonight on the meal plan was pork burgers and caesar salad. —sounds healthy and appetizing right? 😉 It was actually amazing. And healthy.

We decided that since we were running late, we didn’t want any carbs with supper.  The schedule for the rest of the night is to veg and watch Friday Night Lights (our new tv addiction) so we wouldn’t be burning carbs off.  Therefore our pork burgers, turned into just pork patties.

We had these pork patties with some fresh local cucumbers and tomatoes, and a homemade caesar salad (made with my secret dressing that is actually a vinaigrette – so healthy). I’ve made these pork burgers several times now and have decided this is most definitely a keeper recipe and one to share.

Pork Burgers

1lb ground extra lean pork
1 egg
1 clove of fresh garlic, minced
1/4 onion, chopped
1tbsp chicken & rib bbq sauce
1/2C whole wheat bread crumbs
3-4tsp ground flax

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Form into patties and bbq until cooked. Serve as you like.

Honestly, this is a definite must try recipe. So much healthier than beef burgers. Cheaper too!

FNL time – then bed! Until tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “A Little Shredding & Some Pork

  1. Pingback: The Meal Plan Re-Vamped!: September 8-14 | My Pink Thumb

  2. Pingback: The Meal Plan: September 15-21 | My Pink Thumb

Leave a Reply

