Uncategorized

Dessert For Breakfast?

It sure looks like it, doesn’t it?

Banana Overnight Oats Breakfast Sundae

 I am an avid reader of Angela’s blog Oh She Glows and she is the genius behind this little breakfast concoction.  I’m not going to lie, the whole idea of overnight oats kind of weirded me out at first. Having seen many posts on various blogs about these girls eating raw oats that they just had soaking overnight made me thing – “Huh?! are they nuts?”  And then Angela came out with the little overnight oat sundae.  The first time I saw it on her blog I knew I just HAD to make my own variation of it to try.  I’ve made it a few times and this morning’s has been the best so far!

Here’s what I did:

First step – last night I whisked in a bowl 1/3C rolled oats, approx 3/4C skim milk, 1/2 tsp real vanilla extract (none of that artificial stuff in my house), 1tsp unsweetened cocoa powder, and 2tsp ground flaxseed – covered and put in the fridge for the night.

Second step – this morning I made a quick batch of banana soft serve (invented by the genius Gena) by blending a frozen banana with about 1/4C of skim milk.

Third step – time to layer in my glass… first a layer of the banana soft serve, then a layer of the oats, and a few slices of strawberries

Fourth step – EAT!   OMG this is my new favourite breakfast and will definitely be my go to am meal on the upcoming hot summer days!!

And just for fun, I’ve been playing around with nutrition facts about some of my recipes, so here’s where this morning’s breakfast fit in:

 Not too shabby for the start of my day!  Yes there are sugars and fats, but they’re all from natural sources so I’m happy with it! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Dessert For Breakfast?

  1. Now THIS is something I’d love to try! Thanks, Lua! I’ve heard of making a big-batch of porridge overnight in a crock-pot, but this is perfect for the summer! 🙂

    BTW…you have a lovely site. I’ll return when I have more time; I’ve bookmarked it!

Leave a Reply

