Uncategorized

A Little…Well BIG Announcement

If I were able to contain myself, I’d try to be clever and drag this out a bit. But… I’m not the type to be able to hold things like this in.  I still can’t believe I haven’t written this post sooner!  The past few days have been a blur of excitement with 0 ability to stop and concentrate on anything else – like blog writing.  So are you ready for this announcement or what?!

C AND I ARE ENGAGED!!!!!!!

Summer 2009

No word of a lie – I’m still kind of in shock!  I mean, I knew it was going to happen eventually because we talk about it all the time… and we had some a bit of ring shopping at the end of April.  Turns out my parents, his parents, even one of my friends had known for weeks that he was going to pop the question! I’m so impressed that everyone was able to keep the secret from me for so long!

The Proposalwas perfect

Rewind to Saturday May 8, 2010. We wake up to silence outside, which was a welcomed surprise as it was supposed to rain the entire weekend.  As soon as I was conscious enough to realize it wasn’t raining, I suggested to C that we go for an early morning run before I went to ride and he went to do his strength workout.  He thought it was a great idea to run right away, but then suggested we went for our run near his place instead.  I wondered why bother since he had running clothes at my house, but when he said he wanted to run in other clothes, I didn’t even think twice and agreed to have a quick breakfast then head over to his neck of the woods.

Looking back now, all the signs were almost so obvious, but I honestly had no clue!

He ends up putting on a pair of shorts that had lots of pockets, including pockets on the side.  At some point when I wasn’t around, he obviously managed to sneak the box with the ring into one of the pouffy side pockets.  As we started out on our run, he first motioned to put his keys in his side pocket then quickly said “ah I’ll just carry them so they don’t bang around and make a lot of noise” – looking back, he just didn’t want them banging on the box! lol So clever!

Our run led us to one of the most beautiful roads I have been down in the area. It was like a country road right in the city!  It was so peaceful and quiet out. Trees and birds everywhere. Smells of pine, cedar… and just plain freshness filled the air. About half way through our run, C started complaining of a pain in his foot.  He thought something was in his shoe like a piece of glass! ( – again, looking back – so obvious! but I still had no clue)  He asked if we could stop for a sec so that he could fix his shoe.  Although I was annoyed because I was timing our run (first run back after our 10K!) I let him stop and proceeded to jog on spot as I waited for him to get organized.  I remember him fiddling with his shoe for a bit (he was on one knee at this point) and then he started with this little speech…. thanking me for being there for him in so many different ways.. and then his hand went to that side pocket and out came a little box.  He asked me to marry him and I said “OF COURSE!!!”  He then got a big sweaty mess of a kiss from me. LOL

He did such a good job at surprising me and keeping the secret.  This proposal came when I least expected .. and he still wanted to ask me even though I was a sweaty mess from running!!!! He’s a keeper for sure! 😉

I couldn’t be more proud, happy and excited to now be engaged to the most INCREDIBLE man I have EVER met!

No date is set yet, but the top of our idea list is to have a destination wedding around this time next year.  I’m definitely looking forward to see how our planning unfolds!

3 thoughts on “A Little…Well BIG Announcement

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh *breath* hhhhhhhhhhhhh!! 🙂 Awesome. You guys make a super cute couple! Plus, I’m sure you must be SO excited about now being Polish by association, LOL..Maybe next time you can make cabbage rolls, I need that recipe! haha..Again, congrats.

Leave a Reply

