Uncategorized

Pre-Race Jitters

This time 2 days from now, I will have just completed my first official 5K race!!!

Although I had big running goals several months ago, once I actually started running back in January, I still felt this small sense of doubt in my mind as to whether or not I’d actually be able to do this running thing.  I remember feeling so tired after running 1 and 2 minute intervals in January and find it’s crazy now that I’ve successfully run for over 30 minutes many times!  My long-term goal since the beginning of this has been to run a marathon.  Sadly, as much as I’d really like to achieve that goal, having suffered with 2 setbacks already due to pains in my knee, I’m not sure if that goal will be feasible.  I will however keep plugging away though and see how far my body will allow me to go!

So on to this big race! Several weeks ago I registered for Run By The Lake 2010 which is taking place in Ajax right along lake Ontario.  (Click HERE to see exactly where I’ll be running.) I was close to finishing the C25K training program and decided this race would be a great goal and incentive to plow through and finish the program strong.  I’ve been really excited and positive about this race but now that it’s only two days away, I’m finding myself extremely nervous!!  I know I will be able to do it, as I’ve already ran 5K several times.  I think it’s just the fact that it’s my first race and I have absolutely no clue what to really expect! 

Perhaps I’ll get a better idea of how the morning will pan out after I talk to some people today when I pick up my race kit.

If any of my readers are runners, do you have any tips for me for my first race???

2 thoughts on “Pre-Race Jitters

  1. I’m sure you’ll do fantastic in the 5K. The one bit of advice that I can offer (and I so need to get back on the ball myself) is to eat some pasta the night before. I know the thought of carbs sounds bla, but it’s recommended by tons of runners usually before a marathon, but I think it was helpful for my 5K.

    Also pace yourself during the run….a lot of people start off fast and tire quickly.

    Good luck! Can’t wait to hear the results!

Leave a Reply

